3 drivers lead way for most free passes in 2017

By Dominic Aragon

November 18, 2017

Through 35 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races this year, A.J. Allmendinger, Jeffrey Earnhardt and Paul Menard have earned the free pass award 14 times apiece, leading all drivers.

The free pass, also known as the beneficiary rule and the “Aaron’s Lucky Dog” award in the past, allows the first car off of the lead lap at the time of caution to earn one lap back as long as the driver did not bring out the yellow flag.

There have been 291 total cautions this season in the premier series. The free pass has been awarded a total of 252 times, or approximately 87 percent of all cautions.

A total of 44 drivers have earned the free pass at least one time in 2017, including 15 of the 16 Playoff drivers. Jamie McMurray is the only driver who made the playoffs to not be awarded the beneficiary rule this season.

See the full list here: 2017 CUP SERIES FREE PASS LIST


Jonny Olkowski/The Racing Experts

Which driver will most likely earn at least one free pass award Sunday?
No. 27 Paul Menard
No. 33 Jeffrey Earnhardt
No. 47 A.J. Allmendinger
do riddles