Chevrolet sweeps February Daytona weekend for the first time

By Christian Koelle
February 24, 2018

When Austin Dillon crossed the finish line Sunday to win his first Daytona 500, not only did he make history for his organization, he also made history for Chevrolet.

True, Chevrolet has won the Daytona 500 23 times over its 60-year history, but the manufacturer had never swept the entire weekend.

Tyler Reddick won Saturday's PowerShares QQQ 300 behind the wheel of a JR Motorsports Chevrolet; While Johnny Sauter won the NextEra Energy Resources 250 driving a GMS Racing Chevrolet.

The NextEra Energy Resources 250 was the one race that held Chevrolet from accomplishing this feat over the years. That elusive win finally was conquered in 2016 but Toyota earned the victory in the Daytona 500 that season.

Chevrolet has won the Daytona 500 and the PowerShares QQQ 300 in the same season a total of 19 times (2018, 2014, 2013, 2010, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1994, 1993, 1991, 1990, 1989, 1977, and 1975). As noted above, on Sunday, Chevrolet finally earned a complete sweep of the opening weekend at Daytona.

Though it is the first time Chevrolet has swept the weekend, it’s not the first time it has been done. Ford swept the weekend in 2015 with Joey Logano winning the Daytona 500, Ryan Reed winning the PowerShares QQQ 300, and Tyler Reddick winning the NextEra Energy Resources 250.

Franklin Romero/TRE