The five most recent Talladega wins among active drivers

By Matt Courson
April 27, 2018

TALLADEGA, Ala.—The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series is headed to the high banks of Talladega Superspeedway this weekend (2:00 p.m. ET Sunday, FOX).

Ten drivers in the field Sunday at Talladega are past Cup Series winners at the superspeedway. The five most recent date back to 2013.


A race that was mostly dominated early by Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt Jr., McMurray made his charge to the front of the field when it mattered.

McMurray led the final 15 laps in the fall event to secure the victory, just ahead of Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The caution flag waved on the final lap, ultimately ending the race as “The Big One” occurred on the backstretch.

A tap by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. sent Austin Dillon into the backstretch wall. Casey Mears was also collected in the incident.


Hamlin secured his first career superspeedway win at Talladega in the Aaron’s 499 in May of 2014.

Hamlin only led 12 laps, but led the one that counted. An incident involving Justin Allgaier on the final lap ended the race under caution.

The Virginia-native’s best finish at the Alabama track since his lone victory is third in October 2016.


Keselowski could be considered the best restrictor plate racer among all active drivers.

Keselowski has been victorious at least once Talladega Superspeedway in three of the last four years. It is also the site of Keselowski’s first career win with Phoenix Racing in 2009.

Keselowski has led 174 laps around the 2.66-mile superspeedway in the last 4 Cup series events.


Joey Logano added a pair of victories at Talladega to his resume in 2015 and 2016.

Logano edged out Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the victory in 2015 after being the front runner when the caution flag displayed for a multi-car crash on a NASCAR Overtime restart.

In 2016, Logano led the final 36 laps after passing teammate Brad Keselowski for the lead.

Since his 2016 victory, Logano’s best finish at Talladega is 4th last Fall.  


Ricky Stenhouse Jr. returns to the site of his first career win this weekend in the Geico 500.

Stenhouse started on the pole and had the fastest car all afternoon, and proved it after outrunning Kyle Busch and Jamie McMurray during NASCAR Overtime.

Stenhouse went on to win the next restrictor plate event at Daytona last summer, but was unable to sweep the races at Talladega after being involved in a 16-car crash.


Dante Ricci/TRE Jonny Olkowski/TRE

Franklin Romero/TRE