Five most recent Sonoma wins among active drivers


By Daniel Courson
June 23, 2017

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series is headed to the wine country in central California this weekend at Sonoma Raceway (3:00 P.M. E.T. Sunday, FS1).

Six drivers in the field Sunday at Sonoma are past winners at the raceway. The five most recent date back to 2010.


The year 2015 was a breakout year for the Las Vegas native. After suffering a leg injury during the  XFINITY race at Daytona, Busch missed the first eleven races of the 2015 season.

Five races after his return, Busch charged to the front of the field on a final restart from seventh to first, passing Jimmie Johnson in the process to claim his second career victory at Sonoma Raceway. Busch led for 17 of the 110 laps around the California road course.

Kyle Busch went on to win four more races in 2015 and win the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Championship.



On June 23, 2013, Truex captured his second career victory in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. The New Jersey native snapped a winless streak of 218 races, dating back to the spring of 2007.

Truex passed Juan Pablo Montoya on the next-to-last lap after Montoya ran out of fuel. He led three times for a total of 51 laps.



Bowyer held off a hard charging Kurt Busch in overtime to win at the 1.99-mile road course in 2012.

Bowyer dominated the day, leading 71 of 112 laps. Busch caught Bowyer with four laps to go, but the caution flag was displayed. The two raced side by side on the restart, but eventually Bowyer cleared Busch and drove on to victory.

Busch went on to finish third. Clint Bowyer walked to victory lane, after the car ran out of gas during the victory celebration.



Kurt Busch earned his first career road course victory at Sonoma after being winless in 10 career starts at both Watkins Glen and Sonoma.

The race featured several incidents on track, including Brian Vickers’ payback spin of Tony Stewart. The former champion knocked Vickers out of the way early in the race, but Vickers wouldn’t have it and paid him back later in the event.



Jimmie Johnson claimed his first ever career win at a road course in 2010 at Sonoma, leading 55 of the 110 laps. Johnson passed Ambrose during the final caution. In what turned out to be a fuel mileage race, Ambrose coasted up the hill with a stalled engine in an attempt to save gas.

Ambrose could not get his engine refired, and came to a stop on the apron. Seconds later, his car refired and Ambrose tried to reclaim the first position.

NASCAR ordered Ambrose to drop back to seventh place because the Australian native failed to maintain caution car speed. Johnson inherited the lead and drove on to his second victory in the 2010 season.

Brian DeGruchy/The Racing Experts Sarah Crabill/Getty Images


Which active Sonoma winner will finish highest Sunday?
Kyle Busch (2015)
Martin Truex Jr. (2013)
Clint Bowyer (2012)
Kurt Busch (2011)
Jimmie Johnson (2010)
Kasey Kahne (2009)
free surveys