Harvick earns second pole in three races

By Dominic Aragon

May 11, 2018

Kevin Harvick paced qualifying at Kansas Speedway Friday, earning the pole for the KC Masterpiece 400.

Harvick posted a lap time of 28.60 seconds (188.811 mph) in the third round of qualifying, securing his third consecutive front-row start.

“When you come here as a group we look at this race track and just say, hey, we expect to qualify well,” Harvick said. “We expect to race well just because of the past results and the way that it kind of fits everything that we do.

“I wish I could tell you more than that, but it's just one of those places that just works for us.”

The pole is Harvick’s second of 2018 and 23rd of his career.

Harvick is now tied for 31st in all-time poles, sharing the mark with teammate Kurt Busch, Ken Schrader and Jack Smith.

Ryan Blaney will start second after posting a lap time of 28.75 seconds in the final round of qualifying. The Team Penske driver finished inside the top five in both Cup Series races last year.

“I think this is a really good track for our team,” Blaney said. “I’ve liked this track. I made my first Cup start here back in 2014, so it’s been a really nice race track for me. I enjoy it.”

Rounding out the top-five qualifiers are Kyle Busch, Aric Almirola and Brad Keselowski.

Defending race winner and 2017 series champion Martin Truex Jr. will start seventh.

Six drivers failed to turn a qualifying lap after apparent inspection issues. Matt Kenseth was one of the drivers and will start 35th in his first start in the Cup Series in 2018.

Live television coverage of the KC Masterpiece 400 will be Saturday night on FOX Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET.


1) No. 4 Kevin Harvick
2) No. 12 Ryan Blaney
3) No. 18 Kyle Busch
4) No. 10 Aric Almirola
5) No. 2 Brad Keselowski
6) No. 11 Denny Hamlin
7) No. 78 Martin Truex Jr.
8) No. 41 Kurt Busch
9) No. 22 Joey Logano
10) No. 37 Chris Buescher
11) No. 21 Paul Menard
12) No. 20 Erik Jones
13) No. 24 William Byron
14) No. 19 Daniel Suarez
15) No. 31 Ryan Newman
16) No. 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
17) No. 9 Chase Elliott
18) No. 47 A.J. Allmendinger
19) No. 88 Alex Bowman
20) No. 38 David Ragan
21) No. 43 Darrell Wallace Jr.
22) No. 42 Kyle Larson
23) No. 48 Jimmie Johnson
24) No. 1 Jamie McMurray
25) No. 3 Austin Dillon
26) No. 13 Ty Dillon
27) No. 72 Corey LaJoie
28) No. 15 Ross Chastain
29) No. 23 Gray Gaulding
30) No. 55 Reed Sorenson
31) No. 00 Landon Cassill
32) No. 51 B.J. McLeod
33) No. 14 Clint Bowyer
34) No. 95 Kasey Kahne
35) No. 6 Matt Kenseth
36) No. 34 Michael McDowell
37) No. 32 Matt DiBenedetto
38) No. 66 Timmy Hill


Dante Ricci/TRE