Voting for Most Popular Driver Award opens Sunday

By Dominic Aragon
September 2, 2017

Sunday, September 3, marks the beginning of voting for the National Motorsports Press Association’s (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award.

According to the NMPA, the voting period opens at midnight Saturday (Eastern) and runs through Sunday, November 19, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern.

Drivers who declared points for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series this season are eligible for the fan vote award. The winner will be announced Thursday, November 30, at the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Awards ceremony.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the award every year since 2003.

Bill Elliott, the 1988 series champion, won the award 16 times, the most of any driver.

Matt Courson/The Racing Experts

National Motorsports Press Association

Who will win Most Popular Driver this year?
No. 10 Danica Patrick
No. 24 Chase Elliott
No. 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Someone else
Poll Maker