Opinions about the new Points / Chase System 

The New NASCAR points system will be the first major change since 1972.

By Matt Wishart
TheRacingExperts.com Contributer

            NASCAR has decided to change the way the points system will work in 2011 and for many years to come. As of now the winner of every race will be awarded 43 points. Second place will be awarded 42 and so on. Many people have questioned this new system as it seems that NASCAR is trying to make the racing better. The racing was just fine in 2010 and now I believe that they will be racing too hard and there will be more wrecks.


            The way the points worked from 2004 to 2010 is that the winner got 185 points plus 5 for leading a lap. It was also that there was a difference of 5 points between first and second and second to third, third to fourth, fourth to fifth, fifth to sixth. Then it was a four point difference through eleventh, and a three point difference all the way to last. As Jimmy Spencer said, “Forty-Eight points to the winner would be appropriate.” He is perfectly right! 43 points to the winner... Come on NASCAR, Get with the program!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer.
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->