Rookie Report: AAA Texas 500 Jones leads rookies at Texas

By Dominic Aragon
November 6, 2017

All five Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Rookie-of-the-Year candidates were among the 40 starters Sunday in the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Erik Jones was the top finishing rookie in the race. Jones started the race in fourth, eventually finishing in 10th.

Jones finished the both of the first two stages inside the top 10, earning a total of seven stage points. He was the highest finishing rookie for the first time in six MENCS races.

Daniel Suarez finished 14th after starting in sixth place. After finishing Stage 1 in 10th place, Suarez was involved in a two-car crash with Kasey Kahne in Turn 2, but was able to continue the race.

Ty Dillon, who finished off of the lead lap for a second consecutive race, placed in 24th, two laps down.

“We didn’t have the day that we wanted, that’s for sure,” Dillon said. “This team works hard week in and week out, but we just haven’t hit on what we need to at these mile-and-a-half tracks.”

BK Racing teammates Corey LaJoie and Gray Gaulding failed to finish at Texas with both drivers having engine issues.

LaJoie and Gaulding started and finished 39th and 40th respectively.

With two races left on the schedule, Jones remains the highest ranked driver in points at 19th, followed by Suarez in 20th, Dillon in 24th, LaJoie in 34th and Gaulding in 35th.

10) Erik Jones

14) Daniel Suarez
24) Ty Dillon (-2 LAPS)
39) Corey LaJoie (OUT)
40) Gray Gaulding (OUT)

19) Erik Jones
20) Daniel Suarez
24) Ty Dillon
34) Corey LaJoie

35) Gray Gaulding

1) Daytona; Corey LaJoie (24th)
2) Atlanta; Erik Jones (14th)
3) Las Vegas; Erik Jones (15th)
4) Phoenix; Daniel Suarez (7th)
5) Auto Club; Daniel Suarez (7th)
6) Martinsville; Erik Jones (12th)
7) Texas; Ty Dillon (17th)
8) Bristol; Ty Dillon (15th)
9) Richmond; Daniel Suarez (12th)
10) Talladega; Ty Dillon (13th)
11) Kansas; Daniel Suarez (7th)
12) Charlotte; Erik Jones (7th)
13) Dover; Daniel Suarez (6th)
14) Pocono; Erik Jones (3rd)
15) Michigan; Erik Jones (13th)
16) Sonoma; Daniel Suarez (16th)
17) Daytona; Erik Jones (9th)
18) Kentucky; Erik Jones (6th)
19) New Hampshire; Daniel Suarez (6th)
20) Indianapolis; Daniel Suarez (7th)
21) Pocono; Daniel Suarez (7th)
22) Watkins Glen; Daniel Suarez (3rd)

23) Michigan; Erik Jones (3rd)
24) Bristol; Erik Jones (2nd)

25) Darlington; Erik Jones (5th)
26) Richmond; Erik Jones (6th)

27) Chicagoland; Daniel Suarez (12th)

28) New Hampshire; Erik Jones (6th)

29) Dover; Daniel Suarez (8th)

30) Charlotte; Daniel Suarez (6th)

31) Talladega; Gray Gaulding (9th)

32) Kansas; Ty Dillon (16th)

33) Martinsville; Daniel Suarez (15th)
34) Texas; Erik Jones (10th)

Team Chevrolet


Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images