Stenhouse scores first career win, first for Roush since 2014

By Dominic Aragon
May 8, 2017

VL_Stenhouse_050717Ricky Stenhouse Jr. made a last lap pass on Kyle Busch in the GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway Sunday, holding off charges from Busch and Jamie McMurray on the final lap to capture his first career Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory.

Stenhouse led twice in the race for a total of 14 laps, delivering the first win for Roush Fenway Racing in NASCAR’s premiere series since 2014. The victory came in Stenhouse’s 158th career start.

“Doesn’t get any sweeter,” Stenhouse said. “You know, I look at our first 150 or so, and I can only hope that the next 150 are going to be kind of like Joey Logano’s.

“He had 300 races, the first 150 weren’t great, the next 150 were. Hopefully this is a start of that.”

Polesitter Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Dale Earnhardt Jr. led the field to the green flag.

Stenhouse led the opening 13 laps. Four-time Talladega winner Brad Keselowski passed Senhouse for the first lead change of the race.

The segment saw six lead changes among seven drivers.

Leading twice in the segment for 28 laps, Keselowski won the stage with Stenhouse finishing second and Kyle Busch finishing third.

With 35 drivers on the lead lap, Denny Hamlin led the field to the green flag to begin the stage.

The segment featured six lead changes with six drivers leading at least one lap in the race.

Hamlin won the stage, leading twice for 41 laps, followed by Kevin Harvick in second and Ryan Blaney in third.

Using pit strategy from the previous stage, Matt Kenseth became the leader of the race, restarting alongside Denny Hamlin.

35 drivers restarted on the lead lap for the third segment.

BigOne1_050717Four caution periods waved in the segment, three of which were for multi-car accidents, including an 18-car accident on lap 169.

The final caution, a Ryan Newman accident on the backstretch on lap 186, forced the race into overtime.

Kyle Busch restarted as the leader with two laps to go and led at the white flag, but Ricky Stenhouse Jr. passed the 2015 Cup Series champion in Turn 1 of the final lap.

Stenhouse held off charges from Busch and Jamie McMurray to score the win.

McMurray finished second, Busch was third, Aric Almirola was fourth and Kasey Kahne was fifth.

Stenhouse became the eighth different winner in the Cup Series in 2017.

StenhouseCelebrates_050717The GEICO 500 was the third race of 2017 to feature overtime.

26 cars were running at the finish of the race. 23 drivers finished on the lead lap.

14 drivers led at least one lap during the race. OVERALL IMAGES Chris Graythen/Getty Images Jerry Markland/Getty Images Sean Gardner/Getty Images

How many more wins will Ricky Stenhouse score in 2017?
3 or more