Skip to content

Breaking down Joe Gibbs Racing’s 200 wins

Photo by Kyle Stephens/TRE

Sunday’s Xfinity 500 at Martinsville Speedway saw Christopher Bell’s fourth NASCAR Cup Series win but also Joe Gibbs Racing’s 200th Cup win as a team.

Joe Gibbs Racing, since its inception in 1992, has earned 200 victories and five championships in NASCAR’s premier series.

“200th win, 31st year we’ve been in business, so that’s huge.” said Coy Gibbs, COO of Joe Gibbs Racing. “That’s exciting. We actually still have our first employee, Jimmy Makar, who is getting ready to shift into a different role.”


The team made its debut with the No. 18 Chevrolet featuring NASCAR champion Dale Jarrett in the 1992 Daytona 500. One year later, the team won its first race — the Daytona 500 — with Jarrett.

Jarrett drove for the single-car operation in its first three seasons, with fellow future champion Bobby Labonte taking over driving duties in 1995. The team expanded to a two-car organization in 1999 with rookie Tony Stewart driving the No. 20 car.

Labonte won the team’s first championship in 2000, with Stewart following up with another championship in 2002.

The team has won three more championships; Tony Stewart in 2005, Kyle Busch in 2015 and 2019.

Photo by Marcus Leno/TRE

Overall, 11 drivers have won driving for JGR in the Cup Series. Kyle Busch has the most wins in organization history with 56. Denny Hamlin has the second-most with 48.

The organization has won most of its races under the Toyota banner with 142, Pontiac 30, and Chevrolet 28.

56 – Kyle Busch
48 – Denny Hamlin
33 – Tony Stewart
21 – Bobby Labonte
15 – Matt Kenseth
12 – Martin Truex Jr.
5 – Carl Edwards
4 – Christopher Bell
2 – Dale Jarrett
2 – Erik Jones
2 – Joey Logano

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: