Skip to content

Chase Briscoe becomes 200th winner in Cup Series

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Chase Briscoe has become the 200th different winner in the NASCAR Cup Series with his victory in the Ruoff Mortgage 500 Sunday (March 13) at Phoenix Raceway.

Briscoe led on three occasions for 101 laps to earn his first victory in the NASCAR Cup Series, becoming the second first-time winner in 2022.

“That it came at Phoenix, is pretty unbelievable,” Briscoe said to The Racing Experts. “I used to dread coming (to Phoenix), even in the Xfinity stuff.”

Briscoe joins Bobby Hamlilton (1996) and Alan Kulwicki (1988) as the only drivers who picked up their first career wins at Phoenix Raceway.

Prior to Briscoe, Austin Cindric was the most recent first-time winner with his victory in the Daytona 500 in February.

Christopher Bell, Michael McDowell and Bubba Wallace were all first-time winners in 2021.

The next race for the Cup Series is scheduled for next Sunday, March 20, at Atlanta Motor Speedway.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: