Skip to content

Harvick advances two NASCAR legends on wins list

NASCAR Cup Series Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500
HAMPTON, GEORGIA – JUNE 07: Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Busch Light For The Farmers Ford, takes the checkered flag to celebrate winning the NASCAR Cup Series Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway on June 07, 2020 in Hampton, Georgia. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Kevin Harvick’s win in Sunday’s Folds of Honor Quik Trip 500 at Atlanta has now moved him ahead of Junior Johnson and Ned Jarrett on the all-time Cup wins list.

Harvick led 155 laps Sunday, including 105 of the last 108 laps, en route to his second win of the 2020 Cup season.

The win was the 51st of his career, moving him into 12th on the all-time wins list ahead of Johnson and Jarrett, who Harvick was tied with at 50 wins entering Sunday’s race.

Ahead of Harvick on the all-time wins list are Lee Petty (54), Rusty Wallace (55), Kyle Busch (56) and Dale Earnhardt (76), Harvick’s predecessor.

Dale Earnhardt 76th win

Earnhardt is significant in Harvick’s win on Sunday as Harvick won his first Cup race at the track in 2001 while driving for Earnhardt’s team just three races after the 76-time winner’s passing.

“First career win came for me here at Atlanta and this is just a race track that I’ve taken a liking to,’’ Harvick said. “You always have those memories and now you want to celebrate everything that Dale Earnhardt did for this sport. To come here and be able to do that with wins and go to victory lane is pretty special.”

Harvick is one of 14 drivers to have won 50 or more races in the 72-year history of the Cup Series. Harvick has also won 28 races in seven seasons with Stewart-Haas Racing, compared to the 23 races he won in 13 seasons with Richard Childress Racing.

The next race for the NASCAR Cup Series is Wednesday night at Martinsville Speedway for the inaugural Martinsville night race, the Blue Emu Maximum Pain Relief 500 (TV: FS1; 7pm EST).

Harvick won at Martinsville in April 2011 for his 16th career win. He led six laps and passed Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the win with four laps to go.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: