Skip to content

A look back at Kyle Busch’s time at Joe Gibbs Racing

Photo by Cheri Eaton/TRE

Kyle Busch announced Tuesday he will join Richard Childress Racing in 2023, ending a historic 15-year run for Busch and Joe Gibbs Racing.

Signing with Joe Gibbs Racing

After racing the NASCAR Cup Series full-time for Hendrick Motorsports, from 2005 to 2007, Busch was formally announced, in August 2007, as the driver of the JGR No. 18 Toyota in 2008.

TALLADEGA, AL – APRIL 27: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M’s Toyota, comes to the finish line to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Aaron’s 499 at Talladega Superspeedway on April 27, 2008 in Talladega, Alabama. (Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images)

In 2008, Busch rattled off eight wins in the first 22 races before ultimately finishing 10th in the points that year.

Busch’s next three seasons featured at least three wins each year and a playoff berth in two of the three years.

In 2012, Busch earned one win but missed the playoffs for the last time to date.

2013 saw Busch earn four wins and a fourth-place driver points finish – his highest to that point. In 2014, Busch earned one win and a 10th-place points finish.

In 2015, Busch missed the first 11 races because of a leg injury in the NASCAR Xfinity Series opener at Daytona. NASCAR granted the 29-year-old driver a medical waiver for him to remain playoff-eligible, should he win at least one race and be inside the Top-30 in points by the time the playoffs started.

HOMESTEAD, FL – NOVEMBER 22: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M’s Crispy Toyota, celebrates winning the series championship and the race with a burnout after the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 22, 2015 in Homestead, Florida. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Busch won four times and placed well inside the Top-30 in points before the playoffs started. Busch advanced to the Championship 4 race at Homestead-Miami Speedway as a title contender. He ended up winning the race and secured his first NASCAR Cup Series title.

Over the next four years, Busch would win at least four races per season – including in 2019 when he won his second Cup Series title.

Photo by Marcus Leno/TRE

In 2020, Busch earned one win, at Texas Motor Speedway in the third-to-last race of the year. It was the latest Busch had won his first race of the year in any of his NASCAR Cup Series seasons.

Busch earned two wins in 2021 and one win so far this season after a last-lap pass at Bristol dirt on Easter.


Photo by Chris Salazar/TRE

Busch has earned 56 of his 60 NASCAR Cup Series victories driving for Joe Gibbs Racing and both of his Cup Series titles with the organization.

Additionally, Busch earned 90 of his 102 victories in the NASCAR Xfinity Series driving for JGR, clinching the 2009 series title.

“Kyle has been a major part of our history and success here at Joe Gibbs Racing,” Joe Gibbs said in a statement. “We are thankful for his contributions to our organization over the years.”

Photo by Jonathan Fjeld/TRE

Toyota will also lose the three Kyle Busch Motorsports entries in the 2023 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, which have amassed 98 wins, 284 top-5 finishes, 451 top-10 finishes, 66 poles, two driver championships and seven owner championships in 764 entries across 13 seasons.


In 2023, Kyle Busch will pilot the Richard Childress Racing No. 8 Chevrolet in the NASCAR Cup Series team owner Richard Childress said Tuesday that Busch signed a “multi-year” deal.

Busch is currently tied with seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Richard Petty for the most consecutive winning seasons, at 18. If Busch picks up a win next year, he will have sole possession of that record.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply