Skip to content

All-time NASCAR Cup Series lap leaders at Bristol

This weekend, the NASCAR Cup Series will visit Bristol Motor Speedway for its playoff elimination race for the Round of 16.

The track has hosted 122 Cup Series on its paved surface, making its debut on the schedule in 1961. Races at the .533-mile speedway are scheduled for 500 laps (267 miles).

Overall, 19 drivers have eclipsed 1,000 laps led at Bristol, the equivalent of two full races.

ISC Images & Archives via Getty Images

Cale Yarborough is the all-time lap leader at Bristol with 4,305 laps led, a nine-time winner at the track.

CHARLOTTE, NC – JANUARY 20: Darrell Waltrip speaks as he is inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame during the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Charlotte Convention Center on January 20, 2012 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Darrell Walltrip is the all-time wins leader, with 12 wins. He ranks fourth all-time for laps led with 3,436.

The top lap leader among active drivers is Kyle Busch with 2,593. Busch has eight wins at Bristol.

Drivers with 1,000+ laps led at Bristol
Cale Yarborough – 4,305

Dale Earnhardt – 3,751

Rusty Wallace – 3,723

Darrell Waltrip – 3,436

Jeff Gordon – 2,730

Kyle Busch – 2,593

Bobby Allison – 2,316

Richard Petty – 2,212

David Pearson – 1,616

Matt Kenseth – 1,583

Tony Stewart – 1,355

Benny Parsons – 1,222

Kevin Harvick – 1,209

Mark Martin – 1,200

Junior Johnson – 1,178

Fred Lorenzen – 1,119

Kurt Busch – 1,095

Brad Keselowski – 1,013

Carl Edwards – 1,009

Three active Bristol winners have a chance to lead their 1,000th lap at the track this Saturday night: Denny Hamlin (894), Kyle Larson (850) and Joey Logano (766)

The Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 16, at 7:30 p.m. ET.

USA Network has the TV broadcast (streaming on NBC Sports) while PRN and SIRIUSXM NASCAR Radio Ch. 90 has the radio broadcast.

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply