Skip to content

Bowyer, Johnson or Kenseth could make history

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

AVONDALE, Ariz. — A victory Sunday (Nov. 8th) in the NASCAR Cup Series finale by Clint Bowyer, Jimmie Johnson or Matt Kenseth would make one of them the third driver in the history of NASCAR’s premier series to win in their final career start.

Bowyer, Johnson and Kenseth are set to make their final confirmed Cup Series starts at Phoenix Raceway in the Season Finale 500. 

Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

Kenseth and Johnson are both former winners at Phoenix Raceway. Bowyer is a two-time Phoenix winner in the Xfinity Series.

Bowyer, winner of 10 Cup Series races, last won in the series at Michigan International Speedway in June of 2018.

Johnson, an 83-time winner, last won at Dover International Speedway in May of 2017.

Kenseth, who has won 39 races, last won at Phoenix Raceway in November of 2017.

Marvin Burke and Chuck Stevenson are the only drivers to win in their final Cup Series race, according to research across two racing databases.

Burke became the first driver to do so, winning in his lone start at Oakland Stadium in Oakland, California in October of 1951.

Stevenson won his only race in his second and final series start at Willow Springs Speedway in Lancaster, California in November of 1955.

The Season Finale is scheduled for 3 P.M. ET on NBC Sunday.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply