Skip to content

Chase Elliott ties Alan Kulwicki, others on Cup Series wins list

Martin Truex Jr. Chase Elliott Watkins Glen 2019
Photo by Kyle Stephens/TRE

Chase Elliott’s victory in the Go Bowling at the Glen Sunday (August 4) at Watkins Glen International tied the Hendrick Motorsports driver with 1992 Cup Series champion Alan Kulwicki and seven other drivers at five career wins in NASCAR’s premier series.

Elliott’s victory was his second of 2019, tying him with Ward Burton, Dan Gurney, Alan Kulwicki, Kyle Larson, Tiny Lund, Dave Marcis, Jeremy Mayfield and Ralph Moody.

“What a day, we had such a fast NAPA Camaro and these guys called a great race,” Elliott said. “We just stayed mistake-free and Martin (Truex Jr.) was a little quicker I felt like those last few runs, but the track position was key and I didn’t mess up into Turn 1 this time, so that was good.”

All of the aforementioned drivers are tied for 71st overall on the all-time wins list. Elliott started the season with three career wins, tied for 95th overall on the all-time wins list.

The next drivers ahead of Elliott on the wins list are Darel Dieringer, A.J. Foyt, Jamie McMurray, Jim Reed and Marshall Teague, all with seven victories in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

Among active drivers, Elliott is tied for the 12th-most wins in the Cup Series with Larson.

The next race for the Cup Series is the Consumers Energy 400 scheduled for next Sunday (August 11) at Michigan International Speedway.

1) Jimmie Johnson (83)
2) Kyle Busch (55)
3) Kevin Harvick (46)
4) Denny Hamlin (34)
5) Kurt Busch (31)
6) Brad Keselowski (30)
7) Joey Logano (23)
8) Martin Truex Jr. (23)
9) Ryan Newman (18)
10) Clint Bowyer (10)
11) Jamie McMurray (7)
12) Kyle Larson (5)
13) Chase Elliott (5)
14) Aric Almirola (2)
15) Ryan Blaney (2)
16) Austin Dillon (2)
17) David Ragan (2)
18) Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2)
19) Alex Bowman (1)
20) Chris Buescher (1)
21) Justin Haley (1)
22) Erik Jones (1)
23) Casey Mears (1)
24) Paul Menard (1)

Active driver is defined by at least one points-awarding start in 2019.
List active through Watkins Glen (August 4, 2019).

Team Chevrolet

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply