Skip to content

Cole Custer becomes 33rd champion of Xfinity Series

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

AVONDALE, Ariz. — With his victory in the Xfinity Championship Race at Phoenix Raceway, Cole Custer earned his first title in the series and became the 33rd different driver to win a title in the series.

Custer won three races in his championship campaign, earning the title in his fourth full-time season in the series and first full-time season since 2019.

“It means the world,” Custer said. “Being so close a couple times at this and how the last few years have gone, I mean, these guys still believe in me and have given me really fast race cars and just digging all year.

“We did such a great job just getting better and better every week.”

Photo: Dominic Aragon/TRE

Custer will attempt to defend his title in 2024, as he announced earlier this week he would return to the No. 00 Stewart-Haas Racing ride.

Nine drivers have won the series title twice, which is the most in the series’ 42-year history.

Xfinity Series titles
Sam Ard, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Jack Ingram, Randy LaJoie, Larry Pearson, Tyler Reddick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Martin Truex Jr.

Johnny Benson Jr., Greg Biffle, Chuck Bown, Clint Bowyer, Chris Buescher, Kyle Busch, William Byron, Austin Cindric, Cole Custer, Austin Dillon, Carl Edwards, Chase Elliott, Tommy Ellis, Ty Gibbs, David Green, Jeff Green, Steve Grissom, Daniel Hemric, Brad Keselowski, Bobby Labonte, Rob Moroso, Joe Nemechek, Daniel Suarez, Brian Vickers

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply