Skip to content

Denny Hamlin ties Fireball Roberts on Cup Series wins list

Denny Hamlin Texas Motor Speedway 2019 win
Photo by Cheri Eaton/The Racing Experts

FORT WORTH — Denny Hamlin and Fireball Roberts are now tied with 33 wins apiece in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

Hamlin’s victory in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 at Texas Motor Speedway Sunday was his second win of the season. He is now 23rd on the all-time wins list.

“I feel like we’ve gotten better and faster every single week,” Hamlin said.

Hamlin started the 2019 season with a win the Daytona 500, his second of his career. He has amassed six top-10 finishes through the first seven races, 11 playoff points and one stage win.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver sits second in driver’s standings, eight points behind teammate Kyle Busch.

The next five drivers ahead of Hamlin on the wins list are Bobby Isaac (37), Matt Kenseth (39), Tim Flock (39), Mark Martin (40) and Bill Elliott (44).

The Cup Series returns to action next Sunday at Bristol Motor Speedway for the Food City 500.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply