Skip to content

Erik Jones signs multi-year deal with RPM

Photo: Sarah Crabill/Getty Images.

Richard Petty Motorsports announced Wednesday that Erik Jones has signed a multi-year agreement to drive the No. 43 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE, beginning in 2021.

Jerry Baxter, who is the current crew chief for the No. 43 team, will continue to serve in that role. Baxter has served as Bubba Wallace’s crew chief this season.

Wallace will depart RPM at the end of 2020 to join a newly-formed team owned by Michael Jordan and Denny Hamlin.

With Jones signed on to the No. 43 team, the No. 32 GoFAS and No. 88 Hendrick entries remain the other notable spots yet to be filled for 2021.

Kyle Larson remains the top candidate for the No. 88. Larson was reinstated by NASCAR on Monday, but no word yet on where or if he will be racing in 2021.

Erik Jones has scored two wins, one pole, 33 Top-5s and 62 Top-10s and 645 laps led in 144 career Cup starts. Currently, he sits 17th in the Cup standings with no wins, nine Top-5s, 13 Top-10s and 63 laps led.

Photo by Dominic Aragon/The Racing Experts


Leave a Reply