Skip to content

Four drivers, four different organizations advance to the NASCAR All-Star Race

FORT WORTH, TEXAS — The NASCAR All-Star Open was filled with parity Sunday as four drivers from four different organizations advanced to the NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway.

JTG-Daugherty Racing’s Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Roush-Fenway Keselowski Racing’s Chris Buescher won the Open’s first two stages while Trackhouse Racing’s Daniel Suarez won the overall race and Petty-GMS Racing’s Erik Jones won the fan vote.

Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

Stenhouse started on the front row and quickly took the lead in the first stage en route to making his fourth NASCAR All-Star Race appearance. He previously appeared in the race’s 2013, 2017 and 2018 editions.

JTG-Daugherty Racing’s last appearance in the NASCAR All-Star Race was in 2018 with A.J. Allmendinger, who finished eighth after winning the Open.

Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

Former JTG-Daugherty Racing driver Chris Buescher benefited from Corey LaJoie moving Daniel Suarez up the track late in stage two. Buescher held off Suarez and earned his first All-Star Race appearance since 2017 when he made his All-Star Race debut.

Suarez restarted on the front row for the final 10-lap stage and quickly took the lead from fellow favorite Tyler Reddick, who restarted alongside him. Reddick mounted a charge but wrecked with eight to go, which set up a restart where Suarez held off Austin Dillon and others to scoot away for the win.

Suarez has made two previous All-Star Race appearances, in 2017 and 2018.

Trackhouse Racing teammates Daniel Suarez, No. 99, and Ross Chastain, No. 1, practice at Daytona International Speedway (Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE).

Trackhouse Racing and RFK Racing, in their current iteration, will each be making their NASCAR All-Star Race debut, with their two cars. Buescher joins RFK teammate Brad Keselowski – and Suarez joins Trackhouse teammate Ross Chastain – in the race.

Erik Jones, No. 43, races at Atlanta Motor Speedway (Photo by Feliz Vigil/TRE).

Erik Jones won the fan vote and gave Petty-GMS, in their current iteration, their first All-Star Race appearance. Jones previously appeared in the All-Star Race in 2019 and 2020.

Stenhouse, Buescher, Suarez and Jones will line up 20th through 24th for the NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway (~8:13 p.m. Green flag; TV: FS1; Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Leave a Reply