Skip to content

Hamlin ties Jarrett on all-time wins list

Photo by Erick Messer/The Racing Experts

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — With his second victory in the Daytona 500 Sunday, Denny Hamlin now sits tied with three-time Daytona 500 champion Dale Jarrett for 24th-all time on the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series wins list at 32 victories.

Hamlin snapped a 47-race winless streak with his victory at Daytona International Speedway.

“He’s (Dale Jarrett) so much better than I am,” Hamlin said about tying Jarrett on the wins list. “Yeah, I don’t know, that’s amazing. Never thought of it that way.

“…I shouldn’t even be mentioned in the same breath as Dale Jarrett, it’s crazy that we have the stats that we do.”

Jarrett, the 1999 Cup Series champion, earned his final career win at Talladega Superspeedway in October of 2005.

Hamlin made his debut in the Cup Series the following week at Kansas Speedway in the No. 11 Chevrolet for Joe Gibbs Racing.

The next five drivers ahead of Hamlin on the all-time wins list are Fireball Roberts (33), Bobby Isaac (37), Matt Kenseth (39), Tim Flock (39) and Mark Martin (44).

Hamlin is the fourth-highest active driver on the all-time wins list, behind Jimmie Johnson (83), Kyle Busch (51) and Kevin Harvick (45).

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply