Skip to content

Jimmy Mullis takes checkers at Pocono Raceway

Jimmy Mullis celebrates victory at Pocono Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

With only a few races left before the 2019 eNASCAR Peak Antifreeze iRacing Series playoffs, the cutoff for the eight-driver championship battle has tensions higher than ever leaving Pocono Raceway.

One of those bubble drivers, Jimmy Mullis, did exactly what he needed to do to find his way to victory lane on Tuesday night.

On the final restart in eNASCAR Overtime, Mullis made his way around Casey Kirwan for his first victory of the 2019 season, and second of his eNPAiS career.


A three-wide battle for the lead before the “Big One” struck in the Tunnel Turn at Pocono Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Keegan Leahy started on the pole position, and looked to be one of the favorites early on. That didn’t last too long, however, as Leahy was collected in the second caution of the event, after he and Nick Ottinger made contact after a three-wide battle for the lead with Zack Novak on the inside.

The early damage for Leahy, Ottinger, and the majority of the other cars involved in the incident took them out of contention for the victory, and gave the advantage to Novak.

Pit strategy would become the story in the middle of the race. During the longest green-flag stint of the event, Novak, along with Ryan Michael Luza and others, elected to take a two pit stop strategy. Meanwhile, Bobby Zalenski, Corey Vincent, Jarl Teien, and others would try to make the finish on one more pit stop.

Zack Novak (6) leads Ryan Michael Luza (53) at Pocono Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Luza, along with Novak, looked to be the favorites for the majority of the event, but it was seeming that the one stop strategy would prevail for the trophy.

After Leahy and Luza made their final stops of the day, the caution flag was thrown, leaving a wrench in the strategies. The two stayed out, along with others on a similar strategy, while those on older tires decided to pit.

The caution between Chris Overland (16) and Chris Shearburn (36) that set the stage for the finish at Pocono Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

From that point on, the race was marred by contact and yellow flags. Many of the final incidents were multi-car incidents, and would set up for the final run of the race.

Luza took over the lead from Novak on one of the restarts, and then Kirwan took the lead from Luza on an ensuing restart.

Eventually, the race was called into eNASCAR overtime. Kirwan looked to have a great restart, but Mullis was able to real him in and take the victory for his Richmond Raceway eSports team.


The second-to-last restart was halted when Logan Clampitt (99) and Timmy Hill (63) made contact at Pocono Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Luza reclaims the top spot in the drivers standings over Leahy. Garrett Lowe moves around Blake Reynolds for third, while Zalenski sits fifth.

Mullis moves from ninth to sixth, while Michael Conti and Ottinger round out the Top 8 playoff positions. Novak, who faltered to a 35th place finish, falls outside the Top 8 by a single point.

The series heads to Michigan Int’l Speedway in two weeks, the second to last race before the playoffs are set.

RaceSpot TV


  1. 46 – Jimmy Mullis – Richmond Raceway eSports
  2. 14 – Casey Kirwan – Clint Bowyer Racing
  3. 90 – Malik Ray – Richmond Raceway eSports
  4. 18 – Bobby Zalenski – Joe Gibbs Racing
  5. 28 – Garrett Lowe – Renegades
  6. 53 – Ryan Michael Luza – FlipSid3 Tactics
  7. 16 – Chris Overland – Wood Brothers Racing
  8. 27 – Corey Vincent – Renegades
  9. 66 – Jarl Teien – G2 eSports
  10. 20 – Jake Nichols – Joe Gibbs Racing
  11. 83 – Adam Benefiel – Independent
  12. 21 – Ray Alfalla – Wood Brothers Racing
  13. 15 – Michael Guariglia – Jim Beaver eSports
  14. 7 – Ryan Lowe – Independent
  15. 74 – Taylor Hurst – Independent
  16. 2 – Caine Cook – Independent
  17. 8 – Michael Conti – JR Motorsports
  18. 31 – Logan Kress – Independent
  19. 55 – Brian Schoenburg – Williams eSports
  20. 5 – Matt Bussa – Williams eSports
  21. 42 – Dylan Duval – Independent
  22. 47 – Nick Ottinger – JTG Daugherty Racing
  23. 79 – Nickolas Shelton – Clint Bowyer Racing
  24. 30 – Blake Reynolds – Team Dillon eSports
  25. 51 – Eric J. Smith – Jim Beaver eSports
  26. 33 – Benjamin W. Nelson – Team Dillon eSports
  27. 62 – Keegan Leahy – G2 eSports
  28. 36 – Chris Shearburn – Letarte eSports
  29. 99 – Logan Clampitt – Burton Kligerman eSports
  30. 75 – Philip Diaz – Mode Motorsports
  31. 17 – Michael Guest – Roush Fenway Racing
  32. 19 – Casey Tucker – Independent
  33. 24 – Cody Byus – Mode Motorsports
  34. 37 – Christian Challiner – JTG Daugherty Racing
  35. 6 – Zack Novak – Roush Fenway Racing
  36. 80 – Brandon Hayse Kettelle – Independent
  37. 63 – Timmy Hill – FlipSid3 Tactics
  38. 4 – Nathan Lyon – Letarte eSports
  39. 77 – Ashton Crowder – Burton Kligerman eSports
  40. 88 – Brad Davies – JR Motorsports

Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: