Skip to content

Joey Logano becomes 17th multi-time NASCAR Cup champion

Photo by Franklin Romero/TRE

Joey Logano’s victory in the Cup Series Championship race Sunday (Nov. 6) at Phoenix Raceway secured the Team Penske driver his second championship in NASCAR’s premier series.

Logano, driver of the No. 22 Ford Mustang, became the first driver since Kyle Busch to earn more than one title (2015 and 2019). Logano previously won the championship in 2018.

“Man, I can’t say enough about this race team,” Logano said. “They just grind it out. They’re so amazing, Paul Wolfe, everybody that puts so much time and effort into the last few weeks.

“And not just this 22 team, this goes so much deeper when you think of Roush Yates Engines and the motor that’s in this bad boy. You think of everyone at Ford, all the employees at Shell and Pennzoil, everyone that’s supported me. It’s been 10 years with Shell, and to get a couple championships and 31 wins is special.”

Logano posted four points-awarding wins in 2022 (Darlington, Gateway, Las Vegas and Phoenix).

Photo by Franklin Romero/TRE

The title was team owner Roger Penske’s third in NASCAR Cup Series competition. Team Penske won the title in 2018 with Logano and Brad Keselowski in 2012.

Logano’s crew chief, Paul Wolfe, earned his second title as a Cup Series crew chief, winning the 2012 title with Keselowski.

Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

“A lot has happened in those 10 years for sure,” Wolfe said. “A lot has changed. Different driver, totally different car. The racing is totally different in my eyes from what it was back then.

“It’s almost like that happened in my second year in Cup racing; it’s almost like I didn’t know better, didn’t understand how difficult it really was to compete for a championship in this series with the best teams and drivers.”

Herb Thomas was the first driver in NASCAR history to become a multi-champion, winning titles in 1951 and 1953.

All-time Cup Series Championships
1) Dale Earnhardt 7
2) Jimmie Johnson 7
3) Richard Petty 7
4) Jeff Gordon 4
5) David Pearson 3
6) Lee Petty 3
7) Tony Stewart 3
8) Darrell Waltrip 3
9) Cale Yarborough 3
10) Buck Baker 2
11) Kyle Busch 2
12) Tim Flock 2
13) Ned Jarrett 2
14) Terry Labonte 2
15) Joey Logano 2
16) Herb Thomas 2
17) Joe Weatherly 2
18) Bobby Allison 1
19) Kurt Busch 1
20) Red Byron 1
21) Bill Elliott 1
22) Chase Elliott 1
23) Kevin Harvick 1
24) Bobby Isaac 1
25) Dale Jarrett 1
26) Matt Kenseth 1
27) Brad Keselowski 1

28) Alan Kulwicki 1
29) Bobby Labonte 1
30) Kyle Larson 1
31) Benny Parsons 1
32) Bill Rexford 1
33) Martin Truex Jr. 1
34) Rusty Wallace 1
35) Rex White 1


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply