Skip to content

Joey Logano ties Bonnett, Parsons and Kenseth on poles list

Joey Logano 2018 Kansas
Photo by Dante Ricci/The Racing Experts

KANSAS CITY — Joey Logano will be starting first for the 2018 Hollywood Casino 400.

Logano posted the fastest lap time Friday at Kansas Speedway in the final round of qualifying, a 28.177 second lap time (191.646 mph).

It was the first pole for Logano in 2018 and the 20th of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career. Prior to Friday, Logano’s highest start this year was second-place twice.

Logano is now tied with Neil Bonnett, Matt Kenseth and Benny Parsons for 40th on the all-time poles list in the Cup Series.

“That’s really cool, I did not know that,” Logano said. “Those names have been around our sport for forever, pretty much, and definitely I’m honored to be close to that.

“They’ve done a lot more for our sport at this point than I have, so I don’t feel like I’m quite as an equal to them, but definitely neat to get the stat.”

Kevin Harvick, who won the Spring 2018 Kansas race, will start outside of Logano on Row 1, his ninth front-row start of 2018.

Aric Almirola, Ryan Blaney and Brad Keselowski, all playoff-contending drivers, rounded out the top five.

Defending Hollywood Casino 400 race winner Martin Truex Jr. will start 12th.

Kyle Larson was the lowest qualifying playoff-eligible driver, and will start the race in 27th.

The Hollywood Casino will be televised live on NBC Sunday at 2 p.m. EST.

1) No. 22 Joey Logano*
2) No. 4 Kevin Harvick*
3) No. 10 Aric Almirola*
4) No. 12 Ryan Blaney*
5) No. 2 Brad Keselowski*
6) No. 20 Erik Jones
7) No. 18 Kyle Busch*
8) No. 19 Daniel Suarez
9) No. 11 Denny Hamlin
10) No. 88 Alex Bowman*
11) No. 41 Kurt Busch*
12) No. 78 Martin Truex Jr.*
13) No. 9 Chase Elliott*
14) No. 14 Clint Bowyer*
15) No. 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
16) No. 31 Ryan Newman
17) No. 24 William Byron
18) No. 21 Paul Menard
19) No. 6 Trevor Bayne
20) No. 1 Jamie McMurray
21) No. 37 Chris Buescher
22) No. 48 Jimmie Johnson
23) No. 3 Austin Dillon
24) No. 34 Michael McDowell
25) No. 47 A.J. Allmendinger
26) No. 95 Regan Smith
27) No. 42 Kyle Larson*
28) No. 38 David Ragan
29) No. 43 Bubba Wallace Jr.
30) No. 13 Ty Dillon
31) No. 32 Matt DiBenedetto
32) No. 15 Ross Chastain
33) No. 96 Jeffrey Earnhardt
34) No. 72 Corey LaJoie
35) No. 00 Landon Cassill
36) No. 23 J.J. Yeley
37) No. 99 Kyle Weatherman
38) No. 51 B.J. McLeod
39) No. 7 Reed Sorenson
40) No. 66 Timmy Hill

* – indicates Playoff driver.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply