Skip to content

Kenseth, McGriff, Shelmerdine inducted as 13th NASCAR Hall of Fame Class

Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Matt Kenseth, Herschel McGriff and Kirk Shelmerdine highlighted the 13th NASCAR Hall of Fame class with their inductions Friday night (Jan. 20) at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Kenseth won 39 races in the NASCAR Cup Series and the 2003 series title.

McGriff raced in the Cup Series in a career that spanned five decades. He won four races in the series, all in 1954.

Shelmerdine won 44 races as the crew chief for seven-time series champion Dale Earnhardt. He won four championships with Earnhardt.

With the induction of the trio, 61 individuals have been inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. The first class was inducted in 2010.

The first 11 classes (2010-2020) featured five members. The 2021 class saw a reduction to three members annually.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there was no induction ceremony in 2022.


Photo by Johnny Olkowski/The Racing Experts

2021: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Red Farmer, Mike Stefanik

2020: Buddy Baker, Joe Gibbs, Bobby Labonte, Tony Stewart, Waddell Wilson

2019: Davey Allison, Jeff Gordon, Alan Kulwicki, Roger Penske, Jack Roush

2018: Red Byron, Ray Evernham, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ken Squier, Robert Yates

2017: Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Mark Martin, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons

2016: Jerry Cook, Bobby Isaac, Terry Labonte, Bruton Smith, Curtis Turner

2015: Bill Elliott, Fred Lorenzon, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White

2014: Tim Flock, Jack Ingram, Dale Jarrett, Maurice Petty, Fireball Roberts

2013: Buck Baker, Cotton Owens, Herb Thomas, Rusty Wallace, Leonard Wood

2012: Richie Ecans, Dale Inman, Glen Wood, Darrell Waltrip, Cale Yarborough

2011: Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, Bud Moore, David Pearson, Lee Petty

2010: Dale Earnhardt, Bill France Sr., Bill France Jr., Junior Johnson, Richard Petty


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply