Skip to content

Kevin Harvick disqualified from final Talladega race

by Dominic Aragon and Jonathan Fjeld

NASCAR disqualified Kevin Harvick after his car failed tech inspection following Sunday’s Yellawood 500 at Talladega Superspeedway.

Harvick’s No. 4 car was found to be violating rules involving windshield fasteners.

Harvick originally crossed the start/finish line in second-place in a photo finish with Ryan Blaney. Harvick will finish last (38th).

In stage one, Harvick placed eighth, ahead of Joey Logano and Ryan Preece. With the disqualification, Logano and Preece will each pick up one more stage point. Corey LaJoie will move from 11th to 10th and also get an additional stage point.

STAGE ONE TOP-10: Ryan Blaney, William Byron, Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott, Alex Bowman, Austin Cindric, Justin Haley, Logano, Preece, LaJoie

STAGE TWO TOP-10: Brad Keselowski, Byron, Logano, Austin Dillon, Elliott, Daniel Suarez, Larson, Chase Briscoe, Ty Dillon, Tyler Reddick

In the full results, everyone will shift up one spot. That means the playoff picture will only change to have Ross Chastain at -10 to the cutline. Chastain finished 37th which, along with 38th, awards just one point.

The top-10 finishers are as follows:

  1. Ryan Blaney
  2. William Byron
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Corey LaJoie
  5. Austin Cindric
  6. Justin Haley
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Ryan Preece
  9. Riley Herbst
  10. Daniel Suarez

In 2019, NASCAR officials began disqualifying drivers for failing post-race tech inspection. Since then, there have now been eight disqualifications (original finish in parentheses):

  • Erik Jones – Richmond, September 2019 (4th)
  • Jimmie Johnson – 2020 Coca-Cola 600 (2nd)
  • Chase Elliott – Nashville, June 2021 (13th)
  • Chris Buescher – Daytona, August 2021 (2nd)
  • Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch – Pocono, July 2022 (1st and 2nd)
  • Brad Keselowski – Martinsville, October 2022 (4th)
  • Kevin Harvick – Talladega, October 2023 (2nd)

Leave a Reply