Skip to content

Kevin Harvick’s winning streak comes to an end

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

AVONDALE, Ariz. — No victory in the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series campaign will leave Kevin Harvick with his first winless season since 2009.

Harvick wrapped up the 2021 season with an eighth-place finish in the NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix Raceway Sunday. He wrapped up the season with 10 Top-5 finishes, 24 Top-10 finishes and 217 laps led.

“I’ve had a lot worse seasons, I know that for sure,” Harvick said in a news release earlier in the week. “I’ve lived through a whole bunch that were way worse than this one. This one has been a bit of a struggle to get the finishes that we have, but in the end, I’ve raced like that for years in my career.”

Harvick had won at least one race a season since 2010 and at least two per season since joining Stewart-Haas Racing in 2014.

The 2014 series champion will enter next year’s Daytona 500 with a 43-race winless streak.

Seven-time Cup Series champion Richard Petty holds the longest streak of consecutive seasons with at least one victory, doing so in 18 seasons (1960 to 1977).

Kyle Busch has the highest number of consecutive seasons with a win with 17 straight among active competition.

Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano have won a race in the last 11 and 10 seasons respectively.


Leave a Reply