Skip to content

Kyle Busch becomes 16th multi-champion of Cup Series

Kyle Busch 2019 champion Homestead
Photo by Marcus Leno/TRE

HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Kyle Busch has joined what only 15 others have been able to do in NASCAR’s elite series.

Busch’s victory Sunday (November 17) in the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway earned Busch his second title in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. He won his first title in 2015.

“There’s always your doubters,” Busch said. “There’s always your haters, but you know what, this one is for Rowdy nation because you guys are the best. Thank you so much.”

Busch, 34, won five races in 2019 (Phoenix, Fontana, Bristol, Pocono and Homestead-Miami).

Busch ties Buck Baker, Tim Flock, Ned Jarrett, Terry Labonte, Herb Thomas and Joe Weatherly as two-time champions.

Kyle Busch 18 Homestead Miami 2019
Photo by Marcus Leno/TRE

“I may be the one that’s able to hoist the trophy, or to have a championship, but it wouldn’t be possible without Adam Stevens (crew chief) and Joe Gibbs, J.D. Gibbs, Coy Gibbs and the whole family,” Busch said.

The next drivers ahead of Busch in championships are David Pearson, Lee Petty, Tony Stewart, Darrell Waltrip and Cale Yarborough.

In total, 33 drivers have won a title in NASCAR’s elite series in its 71-year history.

Toyota Racing

Kyle Busch 18 Homestead 2019
Photo by Cheri Eaton/TRE


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply