Skip to content

Kyle Busch ties Herb Thomas on all-time wins list

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Overton's 400
Kyle Busch, driver of the No. 18 Skittles Red White & Blue Toyota, celebrates after winning the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Overton’s 400 at Chicagoland Speedway on July 1, 2018 in Joliet, Illinois. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Kyle Busch picked up his 48th victory in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Sunday at Chicagoland Speedway, tying the driver with two-time champion Herb Thomas for 14th on the all-time wins list.

Busch led the last 34 laps en route to victory in the Overton’s 400, holding on for his fifth victory in the 2018 season.

Kyle Larson took the lead from Busch on the final lap in Turn 2, with both making contact coming out of the turn. Busch made contact with Larson into Turn 3, with Busch using the front bumper of his No. 18 car to hit the rear of Larson’s No. 42 car, sending Larson for a spin. Larson finished second.

Rounding out the top-five finishers were Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer.

Herb Thomas
Herb Thomas drove the team Hudson Hornet to owner Marshall Teague, winning the NASCAR Cup Series title in 1951 and 1953. (Photo by RacingOne/Getty Images)

The next three drivers ahead of Busch on the all-time wins list are Tony Stewart (49), Junior Johnson (50) and Ned Jarrett (50).


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply