Skip to content

Martin Truex Jr. approaching NASCAR record

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Martin Truex Jr. 2017 Watkins Glen
Dale Earnhardt Jr. leads Martin Truex Jr. during the I Love New York 355 at the Glen at Watkins Glen International in August 2017. Photo by Kyle Stephens/TRE

It may be hard to believe, but Martin Truex Jr. has never won consecutive points-awarding Cup Series races.

Truex, the 2017 champion, leads all active Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers in that category with 21 victories. Dale Earnhardt Jr., who won 26 times in the Cup Series, holds the all-time record among all drivers to never win back-to-back.

Truex is tied for fourth all-time on that list with Jeff Burton, Bobby Labonte and Terry Labonte.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver has a chance to earn back-to-back wins this Saturday at Kansas Speedway after netting a victory Monday (May 6) at Dover International Speedway.

A two-time winner at Kansas, Truex won both events held at the 1.5-mile racetrack in 2017 and finished among the top five in both 2018 races.

The Digital Ally 400 at Kansas Speedway will be televised live on Fox Sports 1 on Saturday (May 11) and 7:30 p.m.

Fifteen of the 22 active winners in the Cup Series have never won back-to-back. An “active driver” is defined by a past winner who has competed in the series at least once in 2019.

Martin Truex Jr. (21)
Ryan Newman (18)
Clint Bowyer (10)
Jamie McMurray (7)
Kyle Larson (5)
Chase Elliott (4)
Aric Almirola (2)
Ryan Blaney (2)
Austin Dillon (2)
David Ragan (2)
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2)
Chris Buescher (1)
Erik Jones (1)
Casey Mears (1)
Paul Menard (1)

1) Dale Earnhardt Jr. (26 victories)
2) Ricky Rudd (23)
3) Terry Labonte* (22)
4) Jeff Burton (21)
5) Bobby Labonte* (21)
6) Benny Parsons* (21)
7) Martin Truex Jr.* (21)
8) Kasey Kahne (18)
9) Ryan Newman (18)
10) LeeRoy Yarbrough (14)

* indicates past champion.

BOLD indicates active driver.
Lists active through Dover I 2019 (May 6, 2019).


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply