Skip to content

Michael McDowell 196th different winner in Cup Series

Michael McDowell is the newest driver to add their name to the NASCAR Cup Series all-time wins list.

McDowell’s victory in the 2021 Daytona 500 is the 36-year-old driver’s first in 358 starts, making him the 196th different racer in NASCAR’s premier series history to earn a points-awarding victory.

“I just can’t believe it,” McDowell said. “The only thing I can think of is just God is so good.  For so many years I’ve just been grinding it out trying to stay in this sport.

“Bob Jenkins gave me a great opportunity to go full-time in a competitive car and Drew Blickensderfer and my whole entire team we’ve been working so hard for years to get into this position.”

McDowell joins Tiny Lund, Mario Andretti, Pete Hamilton, Derrike Cope, Sterling Marlin, Michael Waltrip and Trevor Bayne as drivers who scored their first win in the Cup Series in The Great American Race.

Prior to McDowell, Cole Custer and William Byron were the most recent first-time winners, picking up victories in 2020 at Kentucky and Daytona respectively.

Overall, McDowell is tied with 62 other drivers for 133th all-time on the NASCAR Cup Series wins list.

Ford Performance

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply