Skip to content

NASCAR Cup Series racing on Easter

Rusty Wallace
18 Oct 1998: Rusty Wallace looks on during the Nascar Winston Cup Series – Pepsi 400 at the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. Wallace was the last driver to win a Cup Series event held on Easter. Mandatory Credit: David Taylor /Allsport

It has not been a common site to see NASCAR racing on Easter weekend.

In its 71-year history, NASCAR has held Monster Energy Cup Series races on Easter just 11 times.

The first race held on the holiday was in 1953, when Dick Passwater picked up his lone Cup Series win at the three-fourths mile dirt track Charlotte Speedway.

NASCAR held a race on Easter for five consecutive seasons from 1959 to 1963.

Richard Petty won three times on Easter Sunday, the most of any driver.

The last time NASCAR ran on Easter was in 1989, when Rusty Wallace picked up the win at Richmond Raceway.

According to Motorsports Unplugged, that race was originally scheduled in February but was moved to Easter due to inclement weather.

Additionally, NASCAR has held eight races on the Saturday before Easter (1952, 1958, 1964, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1971, 1985).


1953 Charlotte Speedway Dick Passwater
1954 Central City Speedway Gober Sosebee
1959 Wilson Speedway Junior Johnson
1960 Wilson Speedway Richard Petty
1961 Hickory Motor Speedway Cotton Owens
1962 Martinsville Speedway Richard Petty
1963 South Boston Speedway Richard Petty
1965 North Wilkesboro Speedway Junior Johnson
1969 Hickory Motor Speedway Bobby Isaac
1970 Atlanta Motor Speedway Bobby Allison
1989 Richmond Raceway Rusty Wallace

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Kevin Laughery
Motorsports Unplugged

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

6 thoughts on “NASCAR Cup Series racing on Easter Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: