Skip to content

Nathan Lyon finds victory; Ray Alfalla takes title; 20 drivers advance to 2020 eNiS

final burnouts of 2019
The final burnouts on the 2019 eNASCAR Season at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

As motorsports finales can sometimes play out, multiple story lines concluded on Tuesday night at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Close on many occasions on the 2019 eNASCAR iRacing Pro Series season, Nathan Lyon finally wrapped one up in victory lane, outlasting Bryan Blackford and Jeremy Allen in a pair of overtime restarts.

“I’ve kind of thrown away the last three races, so to finally get the job done, it feels good,” Lyon said to Podium eSports post-race. “I thought there for a second that it might just play out like it has the last few races, but I’m just kind of relieved that it all worked out finally.”

lyon burnout
Nathan Lyon celebrates victory at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via


The race within the race, the battle for the 2019 eNASCAR iRacing Pro Series championship came down to the wire between Ray Alfalla and Graham A. Bowlin, only separated by six points entering the final race of the season.

Bowlin showed his strength early, taking the lead away from Blackford at lap 19.

On lap 44, Bowlin conceded the top spot to Lyon, and it only got worse from there. By lap 55, he slid down to ninth position, and less than a lap later, he took it for a spin in Turn 3, collecting damage in the process.

Graham A. Bowlin brings out the caution at lap 56 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Bowlin rebounded to finish in 14th, but that left the door open for the four-time eNASCAR iRacing Series Champion, Alfalla, to take full advantage.

Alfalla never truly showed off any race winning speed on Tuesday night, but he was fast enough to run in the Top 5 for the majority of the event. In the closing laps, Alfalla slid from second to fourth, but it was still enough to win the title by three points over Bowlin.

“It’s a nice accomplishment, but it’s an accomplishment only made by having a bad season the year before,” Alfalla laughed as he joined Podium eSports post-race to talk about the title. “Obviously, if you’re going to run Pro, you want to win the title… I think I’m just ready to get started on next year.”

“4-TIME” Ray Alfalla adds another eNASCAR title to his resume, but don’t call him “5-TIME”. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via


It was close, but the second place effort by Bryan Blackford was not enough to vault him in to the Top 20 in the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Series Standings.

Blackford and Casey Tucker were both only two points shy of advancing to the 2020 eNASCAR iRacing Series roster, as Tucker finished ninth on the day.

Bryan Blackford started on the pole, but settled for a second place finish at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

The last man to advance was Michael Guest. Guest was swept up in a late race incident and limped back home to a 27th place finish.

All in all, the 20 that entered the race above the cut line all stayed there, although it was tense for one Michael Guariglia, who was involved in the first caution of the race.

Guariglia was mired outside the Top 20 for the majority of the event, while his next closest competitor on points, Cody Byus, ran inside the Top 10.

Cody Byus had his chances of advancing slip away in the final laps at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Everything changed on the final caution on the night.

Byus was swept up in the big one, and wound up 25th. Guariglia made it through, and managed a Top 10.

From the 2019 Peak Series roster, Casey Tucker, Cody Byus, Nickolas Shelton, Benjamin W. Nelson, Logan Kress, Adam Benefiel, Timmy Hill, and Ryan Lowe all failed to return to the 2020 roster.


bowlin leads homestead
Graham A. Bowlin leads at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

No official announcements have been made on the 2020 eNASCAR iRacing Series schedule, or how the teams will play out.

Peak Antifreeze will not be returning to sponsor the series. No word on any replacement just yet.

Stewart-Haas Gaming recently rebranded as Stewart-Haas eSports and will join the 2020 eNASCAR iRacing Series team roster. No word about the other teams status as of yet.

Enjoy the off-season!

Podium eSports


  1. Ray Alfalla
  2. Graham A. Bowlin
  3. Nathan Lyon
  4. John Gorlinsky
  5. Bob Bryant
  6. Ashton Crowder
  7. Jeremy R Allen
  8. Caine Cook
  9. Alex McCollum
  10. Kollin Keister
  11. Brian Schoenburg
  12. Chris Shearburn
  13. Eric J. Smith
  14. Justin Bolton
  15. Chris Overland
  16. Steve Sheehan
  17. Santiago Tirres
  18. Brandon Hayse Kettelle
  19. Michael Guariglia
  20. Michael Guest


  1. 47 – Nathan Lyon
  2. 32 – Bryan Blackford
  3. 08 – Jeremy R. Allen
  4. 2 – Ray Alfalla
  5. 5 – Brian Schoenburg
  6. 55 – Caine Cook
  7. 10 – Liam Brotherton
  8. 42 – David Shutt
  9. 28 – Casey Tucker
  10. 15 – Michael Guariglia
  11. 27 – Ashton Crowder
  12. 98 – Justin Bolton
  13. 21 – John Gorlinsky
  14. 41 – Graham A. Bowlin
  15. 64 – Jeremy B. Davis
  16. 00 – Will Cooley
  17. 02 – Chris Overland
  18. 01 – Braden Boulos
  19. 91 – Alex McCollum
  20. 18 – Santiago Tirres
  21. 12 – Nickolas Shelton
  22. 33 – Benjamin W. Nelson
  23. 34 – Brad Mahar
  24. 6 – Steve Sheehan
  25. 24 – Cody Byus
  26. 25 – Kollin Keister
  27. 54  – Michael Guest
  28. 51 – Eric J. Smith
  29. 36 – Chris Shearburn
  30. 81 – Adam Benefiel

Did Not Race: 7 – Ryan Lowe, 8 – Adam Gilliland, 13 – Matthew Wright, 26 – Ethan Lane, 30 – Corey A. Carpenter, 31 – Logan Kress, 53 – Bob Bryant, 56 – Timmy Hill, 80 – Brandon Hayse Kettelle, 95 – Jesse Schwarz

Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

Leave a Reply