Skip to content

NCWTS NextEra Energy 250 Preview

Tonight, the Camping World Truck Series kicks off their 2022 season with the NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona Int’l Speedway. 36 trucks are set to take to the 2.5-mile superspeedway for 100 laps of truck racing.

Truck Series night in America will be led to the green by Thorsport Racing’s newest full-time driver for 2022, Ty Majeski. Majeski took the pole position with a lap time of 50.245 seconds. Alongside will be John Hunter Nemechek, back in the Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 4 entry once again for 2022.

Qualifying sent home six drivers earlier in the day. One of the biggest surprises going home was the runner-up finisher in the previous two Daytona truck races, Jordan Anderson and his No. 3 truck.

Anderson, along with the No. 84 of Clay Greenfield, the No. 10 of Jen Jo Cobb, the No. 61 of Chase Purdy, and the No. 46 of Matt Jaskol were all sent packing after qualifying. The No. 97 of Jason Kitzmiller and his CR7 Motorsports Silverado packed up early and withdrew after a practice incident on Thursday.

Ben Rhodes will begin his conquest to defend his 2021 Series Championship this weekend. He’ll have to start it mired in the back portion of the field, as he only managed to qualify in 27th. The Top 31 times were taken and the final five spots were decided upon owner’s points and past champions.

Parker Kligerman was the final driver to get in on time. Tate Fogleman, the most recent superspeedway winner at Talladega last season, was able to fall back on owner’s points. Jason White, Thad Moffitt and Timmy Hill also fell back on owner’s points. Johnny Sauter put the No. 47 into the field based on a past champions provisional.

Tune into FOX Sports 1 at 7:30 p.m. ET to catch the action live.


Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: