Skip to content

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. moves to tie for 101st on wins list

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — By winning the 2023 Daytona 500, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. earned his first Cup Series victory in over five years and first with JTG-Daugherty Racing.

Stenhouse, a two-time Xfinity Series champion, now has three victories in the Cup Series tying himself with Aric Almirola, Bill Blair, Robby Gordon, Erik Jones, Dick Linder, Frank Mundy, Tyler Reddick, Elliott Sadler, Gwyn Staley, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Brian Vickers. All the drivers are tied for 101st all-time on the Cup Series wins list.

Next up on the wins list is a 19-way tie that includes William Byron, Austin Dillon, Joe Nemechek and Ken Schrader with four victories.

“Starting the season off with a win definitely changes, I feel like, your mindset going forward,” Stenhouse Jr. said of the win. “But as we saw last year, you’re going to have to gain some points. You’re going to have to stay ahead of eventual winners in the point standings to make the playoffs.

“I think this season, you could see more winners than we had last year. That being said, we’ve got to be on our A game from here on out.”

Richard Petty is the all-time winner in the Cup Series, winning 200 points races. David Perason (105), Jeff Gordon (93), Bobby Allison (84), and Darrell Waltrip (84) round out the top-five all-time winners.

The next race for the Cup Series is scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 26, at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply