Skip to content

Ryan Blaney become 36th different Cup Series champion

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

AVONDALE, Ariz. — With his second-place finish in the Cup Series Championship race Sunday and beating the other three Championship 4 contenders, Ryan Blaney became the 36th different champion of the NASCAR Cup Series Sunday.

Blaney earned his first title in his eighth full-time season, posting 3 victories, 8 Top-5 finishes, and 18 Top-10 finishes.

“Just so proud of this team,” Blaney said. “Unbelievable year, unbelievable Playoffs for us. To win back-to-back Cup titles for Mr. Penske, that’s so special.

“Having my family here, winning my first Cup title, I got emotional in the car. I’m not a very emotional guy.”

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

Blaney is the fifth different Cup Series champion in the last five years. Prior to this year, Blaney’s highest finish in points was seventh twice.

The championship is Team Penske’s fourth Cup Series title (Brad Keselowski 2012, Joey Logano 2018, Joey Logano 2022).

All-Time Cup Series Championships
Dale Earnhardt, Jimmie Johnson, Richard Petty

Jeff Gordon

David Pearson, Lee Petty, Tony Stewart, Darrell Waltrip, Cale Yarborough,

Buck Baker, Kyle Busch, Tim Flock, Ned Jarrett, Terry Labonte, Joey Logano, Herb Thomas, Joe Weatherly

Bobby Allison, Ryan Blaney, Kurt Busch, Red Byron, Bill Elliott, Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Bobby Isaac, Dale Jarrett, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Alan Kulwicki, Bobby Labonte, Kyle Larson, Benny Parsons, Bill Rexford, Martin Truex Jr, Rusty Wallace, Rex White

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply