Skip to content

Tim Shaffer holds off David Gravel for World of Outlaws win at Williams Grove

Tim Shaffer led all 25 laps to win night one of the NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws Series Champion Brands Hi-Tech Lubricants Summer Nationals at Williams Grove Speedway Friday evening. Photo by Austin McFadden/TRE.

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — Tim Shaffer held off one of the nation’s best at Williams Grove Speedway in David Gravel to take his second NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws win of 2019 in wire-to-wire fashion.

Shaffer scored a 0.731-second margin of victory over Gravel, who nearly landed the race-winning slide-job coming off Turn 4 with two laps to go. Ten-time WoO champion Donny Schatz finished third, while Freddie Rahmer and Danny Dietrich rounded out the top five.

Lance Dewease charged from 12th to sixth and WoO points leader Brad Sweet came seventh after winning his heat race. Shaffer qualified eighth and finished second in his heat to Sweet, but drew the pole for the Fast-Pass Dash to set up his second tour win of the season.

Everything went smooth-sailing for Shaffer, until back-to-back cautions flew on Laps 14 and 16, stacking the field up with 11 and nine laps to, respectively. Gravel, who started fourth, maneuvered around Schatz on the first restart to move into second and then hunted Shaffer down once the second restart ensued. Gravel stayed within three car lengths of Shaffer from laps 17 to 23, and with two to go, the driver of the Jason Johnson Racing No. 41 drove it hard into Turn 3, pulling alongside Shaffer for the lead.

But Shaffer steadied his No. 49X and kept it straight coming to take the white flag, while Gravel had to recorrect his machine after losing momentum.

Brian Montieth, Brent Marks, and Logan Schuchart rounded out the top 10. Cory Haas, Sheldon Haudenschild, Carson Macedo, Anthony Macri, and Chad Trout finished 11th through 15th, respectively.

Daryn Pittman, TJ Stutts, Shane Stewart, Jacob Allen, Ian Madsen, Kraig Kinser, Kyle Moody, Jeff Halligan, Landon Myers, and Troy Fraker reared the field.

This story will be updated with post-race quotes.

Time trials

David Gravel landed quick-time despite going out second-to-last with a lap of 16.874. Donny Schatz, Brian Montieth, Brad Sweet, Danny Dietrich, Chad Trout, Freddie Rahmer, and Tim Shaffer rounded out the top eight and put themselves in position to start on the front row for their respective heats.

Heat 1

David Gravel led all eight laps to take the opening heat of the night by 3.619 seconds over Danny Dietrich.

Daryn Pittman, Cory Haas, and Jacob Allen advanced to the feature. Shane Stewart, Kyle Moody, and Chris Arnold were forced to the B-Main.

Heat 2

Donny Schatz cruised to the second heat win, leading all eight laps from the point to top Chad Trout by 1.935 seconds.

Brent Marks, Carson Macedo, and Sheldon Haudenschild advanced to the feature. Kraig Kinser, Kody Lehman, and Dylan Cisney were bumped to the B-Main.

Heat 3

Brian Montieth paced all eight laps to charge to the Heat 3 victory by 2.500 seconds over Freddie Rahmer.

Logan Schuchart came from fifth to finish third. TJ Stutts and Landon Myers advanced to the feature. Jeff Halligan, Jessie Attard, and Troy Fraker were forced to the B-Main.

Heat 4

Brad Sweet led all eight laps snagged the Heat 4 win by 1.180 seconds over Tim Shaffer.

Lance Dewease settled for third, coming one position of the Dash. Shaffer challenged Sweet for the lead the first two laps before jumping the cushion to allow Dewease to close in. Dewease pulled to Shaffer’s inside on Laps 3 and 4, but then slipped coming off Turn 4 on Lap 6.

Ian Madsen and Anthony Macri advanced to the feature. Adrian Shaffer, Jason Sides, and Kyle Reinhardt were forced to the B-Main.

Fast-Pass Dash

Tim Shaffer used a good jump on the initial start to win the Fast-Pass Dash by 2.737 seconds over Freddie Rahmer and Donny Schatz.

David Gravel and Brian Montieth rounded out the top five. Brad Sweet, who drew last, picked up two positions to finish sixth. Danny Dietrich and Chad Trout finished seventh and eighth, respectively.

Last Chance Showdown

Shane Stewart paced all 12 laps to take the Last Chance Showdown by 6.801 seconds over Kraig Kinser.

Jeff Halligan, Kyle Moody, and Jason Sides advance to the feature. Jesse Attard, Adrian Shaffer, Dylan Cisney, Chris Arnold, Kody Lehman, Troy Fraker, and Kyle Reinhardt failed to qualify.



Leave a Reply