Skip to content

Top-5 longest winless Phoenix streaks

Among the 38 starters in this Sunday’s Instacart 500, seven drivers are past winners of a Cup Series race at Phoenix Raceway.

Kevin Harvick leads the active drivers with nine total victories at the 1-mile speedway, with the most recent victory in March of 2018.

Below, we will take a look at the drivers in the field who have the most premier series starts but have yet to find Victory Lane.

Martin Truex Jr. (30 starts)
The 2017 series champion has the most starts among drivers in Sunday’s field.

Truex has led 123 laps, earned two poles, four Top-5 finishes and 12 Top-10 finishes, including two runner-up results.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver will start fifth on Sunday.

Brad Keselowski (23 starts)
Keselowski has posted the second-most starts at the speedway among starters in the field without a victory.

The 2012 series champion has led 264 laps at the speedway with seven Top-5 finishes and 11 Top-10 finishes. The laps he has led at the speedway are the most among active drivers yet to win at PR.

Keselowski has posted two second-place finishes at the track, including in the most recent race in Nov. 2020.

However, Keselowski is a two-time winner at the track in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Keselowski will start from the pole Sunday.

Aric Almirola (20 starts)
In his 20 races, Almirola has led 33 laps, produced two Top-5 efforts, and six Top-10 finishes.

Since joining Stewart-Haas Racing in 2018, Almirola has posted four Top-10 finishes at the speedway, including back-to-back fourth-place showings.

Almirola will start the race in 32nd.

Michael McDowell (20 starts)
In 20 starts, McDowell’s highest finish at the speedway has been 16th-place on two occasions, both times piloting the No. 34 for his current team.

The Arizona native has opened the 2021 season with three Top-10 finishes in four races.

McDowell will start the race in 16th, his best starting position at the speedway since April 2010.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (16 starts)
In 16 starts at the speedway, Stenhouse has earned one Top-5 finish and two Top-10 finishes.

The JTG-Daugherty Racing driver will start the race in 11th.

The Instacart 500 will be televised on Sunday, Mar. 14 on FOX (3:30 p.m. ET).


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: