Skip to content

Some top contenders will not compete Monday in Michigan

When the NASCAR Cup Series race resumes Monday in Michigan, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliott, William Byron and Josh Berry will not be competing.

All four drivers crashed out in the first 74 laps. The final 126 laps will resume around noon ET Monday (Broadcast: USA, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, MRN).

Photo by Jeff Ames/TRE

Kyle Busch crashed in turn two while racing Ryan Blaney on lap 14. Busch’s spotter, Derek Kneeland, came over the radio and told the team, “The f-cking 12 ran down on our quarter panel and wrecked us.”

Then, 20 laps later, Chase Elliott blew a tire in the middle of turns one and two. Elliott immediately put the window net down and bowed out of the race.

Then, at the end of stage one, at lap 45, William Byron smacked the outside wall. Byron told his crew the right-front was “killed.” The crew validated that as repairs took up the entire DVP clock and knocked him out of the race.

When stage two began, Josh Berry wrecked on the lap 50 restart exiting turn four. He spun, smacked the outside wall and fell out of the race.

Berry, Byron, Elliott and Busch will finish 34th, 35th, 36th and 37th, respectively, out of the race.

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

Christopher Bell, who wrecked on lap 64 in a similar wreck as the other four drivers, kept going and runs 32nd. He is the last car on the lead lap.

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

Martin Truex Jr. won stage one ahead of Bubba Wallace, Ty Gibbs, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Daniel Suarez, Alex Bowman, Denny Hamlin, Erik Jones and Corey LaJoie.

Here is the full running order after lap 74:

1Tyler Reddick
2Alex Bowman
3Kyle Larson
4Martin Truex Jr.
5Erik Jones
6Austin Cindric
7Brad Keselowski
8Austin Dillon
9Bubba Wallace
10Denny Hamlin
11Ty Gibbs #
12Chris Buescher
13Daniel Suarez
14Harrison Burton
15AJ Allmendinger
16Ryan Blaney
17Ross Chastain
18Ryan Preece
19Corey LaJoie
20Joey Logano
21Chase Briscoe
22Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
23Kevin Harvick
24Todd Gilliland
25Aric Almirola
26Ty Dillon
27Michael McDowell
28Justin Haley
29* Austin Hill(i)
30Cole Custer(i)
31Josh Bilicki(i)
32Christopher Bell
33JJ Yeley(i)
34Josh Berry(i)
35William Byron
36Chase Elliott
37Kyle Busch

Leave a Reply