Skip to content

Ty Gibbs becomes 32nd Xfinity Series champion

Photo by Franklin Romero/TRE

By winning the Xfinity Series Championship Race Saturday, Ty Gibbs became the 32nd champion of the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Gibbs led the field on seven occasions for 125 of the 200 laps, besting the trio of JR Motorsports drivers.

“We made some good moves,” Gibbs said “Me and the 7 (Justin Allgaier) were racing really hard. 

“Hopefully we put on a good show for you fans, thank you for all of what you guys do.”

Photo by Franklin Romero/TRE

Gibbs is the fourth different champion in the last four years. The last driver to win back-to-back titles was Tyler Reddick (2018 and 2019).

The other Championship 4 drivers — Noah Gragson, Justin Allgaier and Josh Berry — finished second, third, and 13th respectively.

Since the series’ inception in 1982, nine drivers have won the Xfinity Series title twice, the most all time.

Toyota Racing

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply