Skip to content

Ty Gibbs, crew wins pit stop challenge, All-Star Open pole

Ty Gibbs had the fastest NASCAR Cup Series crew in the return of the traditional pit stop competition Friday at North Wilkesboro.

The win also put Gibbs on the pole for the NASCAR All-Star Race Open.

Front tire changer Blake Houston, rear tire changer Michael Hicks, tire carrier Jacob Holmes, fueler Peyton Moore and jackman Derrell Edwards, with Gibbs, reeled off 13.012-second time.

That time was 0.285 seconds faster than any other team.

Gibbs will share the front row with Josh Berry for the NASCAR All-Star Open.

Berry and his crew netted a 13.677-second time on pit road.

Daniel Suarez and his crew finished second in the pit crew challenge with a time of 13.297 seconds. Chris Buescher and his crew were third with a time of 13.381 seconds.

Suarez will start on the pole for the first heat, while Buescher will start on the pole for the second heat.


Heat 1 (determines inside row for All-Star Race starting lineup)

  1. Daniel Suarez
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Chase Briscoe
  6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  7. Austin Cindric
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Christopher Bell
  11. Erik Jones

Heat 2 (determines outside row for All-Star Race starting lineup)

  1. Chris Buescher
  2. Austin Dillon
  3. William Byron
  4. Ross Chastain
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Bubba Wallace
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Kyle Busch
  10. Tyler Reddick

All-Star Open race

  1. Ty Gibbs
  2. Josh Berry
  3. Corey LaJoie
  4. Harrison Burton
  5. Justin Haley
  6. Michael McDowell
  7. Todd Gilliland
  8. Ryan Preece
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. A.J. Allmendinger
  11. Josh Bilicki
  12. Ty Dillon
  13. Chandler Smith
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Noah Gragson
  16. JJ Yeley
  1. Ty Gibbs (13.012 seconds; pole for All-Star Open)
  2. Daniel Suarez (13.297; pole for Heat One)
  3. Chris Buescher (13.381; pole for Heat Two)
  4. Chase Elliott (13.572; starts second in Heat One)
  5. Josh Berry (13.677; second in Open)
  6. Austin Dillon (13.712; second in Heat Two)
  7. Joey Logano (13.835; third in Heat One)
  8. William Byron (13.867; third in Heat Two)
  9. Corey LaJoie (13.911; third in Open)
  10. Denny Hamlin (14.089; fourth in Heat One)
  11. Harrison Burton (14.091; fourth in Open)
  12. Justin Haley (14.294; fifth in Open)
  13. Ross Chastain (14.373; fourth in Heat Two)
  14. Michael McDowell (14.509; sixth in Open)
  15. Chase Briscoe (14.674; fifth in Heat One)
  16. Kyle Larson (14.697; fifth in Heat Two)
  17. Todd Gilliland (14.707; seventh in Open)
  18. Ryan Preece (14.760; eighth in Open)
  19. Aric Almirola (14.776; ninth in Open)
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (15.063; sixth in Heat One)
  21. Martin Truex Jr. (15.115; sixth in Heat Two)
  22. Austin Cindric (15.154; seventh in Heat One)
  23. Bubba Wallace (15.167; seventh in Heat Two)
  24. Kevin Harvick (15.579; eighth in Heat One)
  25. A.J. Allmendinger (15.796; 10th in Open)
  26. Brad Keselowski (18.044; eighth in Heat Two)*
  27. Josh Bilicki (18.281; 11th in Open)
  28. Ty Dillon (18.447; 12th in Open)
  29. Ryan Blaney (18.819; ninth in Heat One)*
  30. Chandler Smith (19.004; 13th in Open)*
  31. Kyle Busch (19.531; ninth in Heat Two)*
  32. Christopher Bell (20.064; 10th in Heat One)*
  33. Ryan Newman (20.300; 14th in Open)*
  34. Noah Gragson (20.886; 15th in Open)*
  35. Tyler Reddick (21.034; 10th in Heat Two)*
  36. JJ Yeley (21.066; 16th in Open)*
  37. Erik Jones (21.359; 11th in Heat One)*

Leave a Reply