Skip to content

Ty Gibbs makes Xfinity Series history

In his series debut, Ty Gibbs became the sixth driver in NASCAR Xfinity Series history to win in their series debut.

Gibbs, 19,  joins Dale Earnhardt, Joe Ruttman, Ricky Rudd, Terry Labonte and Kurt Busch as winners in their first Xfinity Series start.

Gibbs won Stage 2 and led 14 laps en route to the victory in the Super Start Batteries 188 Saturday (Feb. 20) at the Daytona Road Course.

“This is awesome, I can’t do burnouts, that’s one thing I cannot do at all. I just can’t thank everybody, this is just a dream come true to me,” Gibbs said.

“I really didn’t think I had it there. Kind of fought back and we won. Thank you to Monster Energy and everybody, I don’t even know what’s going on.”

The next race for the Xfinity Series is scheduled for next Saturday, Feb. 27 at Homestead-Miami Speedway

Toyota Racing

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: