Skip to content

William Byron 1 pole away from tying NASCAR record

William Byron 2020 Daytona
Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

If William Byron wins the pole Sunday (Feb. 9) for the Daytona 500 for a second consecutive season, he will tie Mike Skinner for the most pole awards without scoring a points-awarding victory in the history of the NASCAR Cup Series.

Currently, Byron is tied with Todd Bodine and Ted Musgrave for the second-most poles in Cup Series history (five poles apiece) without a win.

Skinner won six poles in his 22-year Cup Series career. Despite leading 1,029 laps — the most laps led without recording a Cup Series win in series history — the 62-year-old never won a race in 286 starts.

2020 marks Byron’s third full-time season in the Cup Series, and the Daytona 500 will be Byron’s 73rd start in the series.

William Byron 24 2020 Daytona
Photo by Erick Messer/TRE

Byron won his first career Cup Series pole last season for the 2019 Daytona 500. He also won poles for the Coca-Cola 600, spring Pocono race, Darlington Labor Day-weekend race and the Charlotte Road Course race in September.

Reed Sorenson, Daniel Suarez and J.J. Yeley are other active Cup Series drivers who have won at least one pole but have yet to win in NASCAR’s elite series.

Hendrick Motorsports has had one of their drivers win the pole for NASCAR’s Super Bowl in the last five seasons (Jeff Gordon ‘15, Chase Elliott ‘16 and ‘17, Alex Bowman ‘18 and William Byron ‘19).

Seventy-five drivers, according to data from, have won at least one pole but have never won in the Cup Series’ 71-year history.

Pole day qualifying for the Daytona 500 will be televised live on Sunday, Feb. 9 at 12:30 p.m. ET. on FOX.


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply