Skip to content

William Byron back on top in Phoenix

Photo by Dominic Aragon/TRE

AVONDALE, ARIZ. — William Byron will start where he finished in the spring at Phoenix Raceway and start with the best view of the NASCAR Cup Series title.

Byron will start first after finishing first in the spring.

If you believe in trends across the sports world, car No. 24 last won the title in 2001, the World Series featured the Arizona Diamondbacks, who went back there for the first time since then this year.

Bell starts 13th but wasn’t worried.

“I’ve never won a race from the pole so I’m not discouraged. My car showed long-run pace,” Bell said.

After missing the Championship Four, Martin Truex Jr. will share the front row with Byron. Just behind them is Kevin Harvick who is making his final start in full-time Cup Series competition.

Cole Custer qualified Brad Keselowski’s car in 31st. Keselowski missed qualifying to be present for the birth of his child. He will fall to the rear Sunday.

The Season Finale 500 NASCAR Cup Series race goes green just after 3 p.m. ET (Broadcast: NBC, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, MRN affiliates)

  1. William Byron
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Bubba Wallace
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Erik Jones
  8. Ross Chastain
  9. Chris Buescher
  10. Tyler Reddick
  11. Ty Gibbs
  12. Ryan Preece
  13. Christopher Bell
  14. Todd Gilliland
  15. Ryan Blaney
  16. Daniel Suarez
  17. Joey Logano
  18. Kyle Busch
  19. Michael McDowell
  20. Chase Elliott
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Carson Hocevar
  23. Alex Bowman
  24. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  25. Harrison Burton
  26. Chase Briscoe
  27. Austin Cindric
  28. Aric Almirola
  29. Corey LaJoie
  30. Ryan Newman
  31. Brad Keselowski (to the rear)
  32. A.J. Allmendinger
  33. Ty Dillon
  34. J.J. Yeley
  35. Justin Haley
  36. B.J. McLeod

Leave a Reply