Skip to content

Aaron Reutzel wins the Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal, pockets $52,000

Aaron Reutzel does the wing dance after inking his name in the Central Pennsylvania record books. Photo by Kyle McFadden/TRE.

PORT ROYAL, Pa. — Aaron Reutzel powered around one of Pennsylvania’s best in Lance Dewease to lead the final 28 laps and win the 52nd annual Tuscarora 50 sanctioned by the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All-Star Circuit of Champions at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.

Dewease, who led 19 of the 50 laps and maintained the lead at the halfway fuel stop, settled for third. Anthony Macri charged from 13th to finish second. Danny Dietrich and Logan Wagner placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

Mike Wagner, Dylan Cisney, Freddie Rahmer, Justin Peck, and Cory Eliason rounded out the top 10.

Three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Tony Stewart finished 22nd.

This story will be updated.

Hot laps
Anthony Macri was the fastest out of the box in hot laps with a lap of 17.369. Dave Blaney, Lance Dewease, Cory Eliason, Kerry Madsen, Brock Zearfoss, Danny Dietrich, Aaron Reutzel, Skylar Gee, and Greg Wilson were the top 10.

Time trials
Logan Wagner was the quick-time recipient with a lap of 17.843 out of Group B. Cory Eliason, meanwhile, was fastest in Group A with a lap of 17.916. Lance Dewease, James McFadden, Aaron Reutzel, and Anthony Macri rounded out the top five in Group A. Danny Dietrich, Brian Brown, Dylan Cisney, and AJ Flick made up the top five in Group B.

Heat 1
Paul McMahan shot out into clean air and led all eight laps en route to the first heat win of the night. Aaron Reutzel, who bounced it off the wall on Lap 1 and fell back to fifth, motored to second and Tyler Walton finished third.

Cory Eliason, Dave Blaney, Tyler Reeser, Chase Dietz, Landon Myers, and Sye Lynch were forced to the consolations.

Heat 2
Lance Dewease rolled around the bottom to cruise to the Heat 2 win by 3.9 seconds over Kerry Madsen. Anthony Macri finished third, the final transfer spot.

Dewease started fourth and slid by Madsen, who used the top, coming off Turn 4 on Lap 4 to take the lead for good. Blane Heimbach, Jeff Miller, Steve Buckwalter, Tyler Bear, Trenton Sheaffer, and George Hobaugh were forced to the consolations.

Heat 3
James McFadden powered to the Heat 3 victory by 1.6 seconds over Brock Zearfoss and Justin Peck.

McFadden started fourth and shot through the middle on Lap 1 to take the point. Tony Stewart, Ryan Taylor, Skylar Gee, Chad Kemenah, Brie Hershey, and Dustin Baney were forced to the consolations.

Heat 4
Former Port Royal Speedway track champion claimed the Heat 4 victory by 3.3 seconds over Dylan Cisney. Logan Wagner, who won quick-time and posted the fastest lap in his heat, settled for third, and never really got going until Lap 4 of 8.

Dan Shetler, Gerard McIntyre, Lynton Jeffrey, Greg Wilson, Brian Montieth, and Kyle Smith were forced to the consolations.

Heat 5
Dale Blaney nursed a sick motor and held off a hard-charging Danny Dietrich to win Heat 5 by 0.3 seconds.

AJ Flick placed third as the final transfer. TJ Stutts, Trey Starks, Chase Dietz, Josh Baughman, Cory Haas, and Brett Michalski were forced to the consolations.

Heat 6
Alan Krimes raced to the Heat 6 victory by 2.5 seconds over Freddie Rahmer in wire-to-wire fashion.

Gio Scelzi finished third, snatching the final transfer spot by passing Ryan Smith going into Turn 3 with two laps to go. Smith, meanwhile, came fourth, and ultimately sent to the B-Main. Brian Brown, Jared Esh, Tyler Reeser, and John Garvin were forced to the consolations.


Tyler Reeser and Greg Wilson advanced to the B-Main with their first and second-place finishes in the 12-lap C-Main.

Chad Kemenah, Tyler Bear, Brian Montieth, Nicole Bower, Josh Baughman, Cory Haas, Brett Michalski, Landon Myers, Sye Lynch, Dustin Baney, Trenton Sheaffer, Brie Hershey, and Kyle Smith failed to qualify for the main event.

Leave a Reply