Skip to content

Corey Vincent goes from third to first on final straightaway to win at Indianapolis

Corey Vincent was victorious at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Tuesday night. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

It turned into a fuel strategy event at the virtual Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Tuesday, and in the closing laps, it turned into an absolute free-for-all for the victory.

Off of the final corner, the leader Blake Reynolds ran out of fuel, and put a hasty block on Casey Kirwan.

As the two leaders slammed into the inside pit wall, Corey Vincent, running in third, stayed high and passed the carnage en route to his first victory of the 2019 eNASCAR Peak Antifreeze iRacing Series season, and third of his career.

Reynolds recovered to finish in second, while Kirwan fell back to finish in fifth.

incredible finish
Corey Vincent (27) passes Blake Reynolds (30) and Casey Kirwan (14) for the victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via


Jimmy Mullis took the field to the second green flag of the 2019 eNPAiS playoffs, but Keegan Leahy made it known early that he would be the man to beat.

The race ran past halfway caution free, but at lap 42, the first and only caution flew when Brian Schoenburg and Caine Cook made contact, ending Schoenburg’s race.

It was apparent under the caution that fuel strategy could come into play if the race went green to the end, and some drivers immediately went into fuel conservation mode.

Three wide for the lead at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

In the closing laps, Blake Reynolds rocketed from about tenth to the lead, with Casey Kirwan and Bobby Zalenski right behind.

Reynolds made a handful of aggressive blocks to maintain the lead, and as they rounded Turn 4, it looked like he would be heading towards his first career victory.

It was not to be, however, as his fuel pressure began to drop, along with his speed. A last ditch block ultimately saved Reynolds a second place effort, but it was Corey Vincent’s day, scooting by on the high side for the victory.



One race remains in the 2019 eNPAiS playoffs, and not a single driver can say they are truly locked into the title fight at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Keegan Leahy and Zack Novak are both sitting in the best positions leaving Indy.

Leahy finished third, and leads the standings, ahead of the cutoff by 39 points.

Novak is ahead of the cut by 28 points after a 17th place finish at Indianapolis.

novak pits
Zack Novak leaves his pit stall at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Also ahead of the cut, Garrett Lowe and Blake Reynolds are tied for third, 13 points ahead. Lowe finished eighth on Tuesday.

After not having enough gas to make it to the end, Ryan Michael Luza is now the first man out, 13 points outside of the cut. Luza has struggled at road courses at the past, and possibly had the toughest hill to climb at the Charlotte Roval in two weeks.

Michael Conti was never on the fuel saving strategy, and knowing he couldn’t save enough, pitted midway through the final run finishing in the in 30th position. Conti has a gap of 17 points to make up at the Roval.

Jimmy Mullis ran out of gas on the final lap, and after what looked to be a promising race, wound up coming home 26th. Mullis will enter the Roval 25 points behind the cutoff.

Bobby Zalenski (18) leads at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Bobby Zalenski took the lead after the restart on lap 48, and even began to save fuel from the lead, but it wouldn’t be enough, as he peeled off with two laps to go in the race.

Zalenski wound up 36th, and with 28 points to make the cut, he essentially has to win at the Roval to advance to the Championship 4.

Thankfully for Zalenski, he was dominant at Sonoma earlier in the season, and could bring that dominance in Charlotte.

The series has one race left before the Championship Four is set. The date is set for September 24th, and will take place at the Charlotte Motor Speedway Roval.


RaceSpot TV


  1. 27 – Corey Vincent – Renegades
  2. 30 – Blake Reynolds – Team Dillon eSports
  3. 62 – Keegan Leahy – G2 eSports
  4. 7 – Ryan Lowe – Independent
  5. 14 – Casey Kirwan – Clint Bowyer Racing
  6. 80 – Brandon Hayse Kettelle – Independent
  7. 42 – Dylan Duval – Independent
  8. 28 – Garrett Lowe – Renegades
  9. 15 – Michael Guariglia – Jim Beaver eSports
  10. 66 – Jarl Teien – G2 eSports
  11. 90 – Malik Ray – Richmond Raceway eSports
  12. 75 – Philip Diaz – Mode Motorsports
  13. 4 – Nathan Lyon – Letarte eSports
  14. 5 – Matt Bussa – Williams eSports
  15. 21 – Ray Alfalla – Wood Brothers Racing
  16. 16 – Chris Overland – Wood Brothers Racing
  17. 6 – Zack Novak – Roush Fenway Racing
  18. 83 – Adam Benefiel – Independent
  19. 33 – Benjamin W. Nelson – Team Dillon eSports
  20. 31 – Logan Kress – Independent
  21. 47 – Nick Ottinger – JTG Daugherty Racing
  22. 88 – Brad Davies – JR Motorsports
  23. 20 – Jake Nichols – Joe Gibbs Racing
  24. 53 – Ryan Michael Luza – FlipSid3 Tactics
  25. 36 – Chris Shearburn – Letarte eSports
  26. 46 – Jimmy Mullis – Richmond Raceway eSports
  27. 74 – Taylor Hurst – Independent
  28. 99 – Logan Clampitt – Burton Kligerman eSports
  29. 2 – Caine Cook – Independent
  30. 8 – Michael Conti – JR Motorsports
  31. 17 – Michael Guest – Roush Fenway Racing
  32. 77 – Ashton Crowder – Burton Kligerman eSports
  33. 37 – Christian Challiner – JTG Daugherty Racing
  34. 51 – Eric J. Smith – Jim Beaver eSports
  35. 19 – Casey Tucker – Independent
  36. 18 – Bobby Zalenski – Joe Gibbs Racing
  37. 63 – Timmy Hill – FlipSid3 Tactics
  38. 79 – Nickolas Shelton – Clint Bowyer Racing
  39. 55 – Brian Schoenburg – Williams eSports

DID NOT RACE: 24 – Cody Byus – Mode Motorsports

Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

Leave a Reply