Skip to content

All-time NASCAR Cup Series winners at Martinsville

Photo by Kyle Stephens/TRE

Martinsville Speedway will host its 150th NASCAR Cup Series event Sunday with the Xfinity 500.

In is history, 57 drivers have won a Cup Series race at the Virginia short track with 24 winners winning more than once.

Martinsville Speedway is the only track that was featured on the original 1949 Cup Series schedule. Since 1950, the track has hosted at least two Cup Series races per season, hosting three events in 1961.

1949 series champion Red Byron won the first race at Martinsville.

Seven-time NASCAR champion Richard Petty holds the most victories at Martinsville with 15.

Currently, 13 active drivers have won at the track. Denny Hamlin leads the active full-time competition with five victories, the ninth most overall.

Additionally, as the penultimate race of the year, the championship field will be set after 500 laps at the Virginia short track, with six drivers vying for the two remaining spots.

The Xfinity 500 is scheduled for Sunday, Oct. 29, at 2 p.m. ET on NBC.

Richard Petty 15
Darrell Waltrip 11
Jeff Gordon 9
*Jimmie Johnson 9
Rusty Wallace 7
Dale Earnhardt 6
Fred Lorenzen 6
Cale Yarborough 6
*Denny Hamlin 5
Geoff Bodine 4
Harry Gant 3
Jim Paschal 3
Lee Petty 3
Ricky Rudd 3
Tony Stewart 3
*Martin Truex Jr. 3
Buck Baker 2
Kurt Busch 2
*Kyle Busch 2
Bobby Isaac 2
Junior Johnson 2
*Brad Keselowski 2
Mark Martin 2
Herb Thomas 2
Curtis Turner 2
Bob Welborn 2
Rex White 2
John Andretti 1
Buddy Baker 1
*Christopher Bell 1
*Alex Bowman 1
Clint Bowyer 1
Jeff Burton 1
Red Byron 1
*William Byron 1
Ricky Craven 1
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1
*Chase Elliott 1
Tim Flock 1
Bobby Hamilton 1
*Kevin Harvick 1
Ernie Irvan 1
Dale Jarrett 1
Bobby Labonte 1
*Kyle Larson 1
*Joey Logano 1
Dave Marcis 1
Frank Mundy 1
*Ryan Newman 1
David Pearson 1
Dick Rathman 1
Fireball Roberts 1
Earl Ross 1
Morgan Shepherd 1
Jack Smith 1
Nelson Stacy 1
Speedy Thompson 1
Joe Weatherly 1

* indicates active driver

Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply