Skip to content

Bobby Zalenski dominates at Sonoma Raceway

zalenski burnout
Bobby Zalenski celebrates after winning at Sonoma Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Bobby Zalenski finally added his name to the list of winners in the 2019 eNASCAR Peak Antifreeze iRacing Season after a convincing victory on Tuesday night at Sonoma Raceway.

Zalenski led all 55 laps in the predetermined caution-free event, outrunning second place finisher Michael Conti by over eight seconds.

“This is my most favorite track on the sim, and just in general,” Zalenski said to RaceSpot TV in the post-race celebration. “I just love this place, you know, it’s a California track, you could call it a home track, and I just love this place.

“Everytime I come here, I have a different attitude than I come with anywhere else, where I’m just dead set on winning. That is the goal.

“Boy, oh boy, we delivered, and that’s a huge relief, and I’m just stoked.”

Zalenski is 3-for-3 in a row at Sonoma Raceway after his victory tonight.

zalenski wins 1
Bobby Zalenski led all 55 laps at at Sonoma Raceway on Tuesday night. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Even though the event would not see any caution flags, there were still multiple incidents throughout the event.

On the very first lap, defending series champion, Ray Alfalla, as well as the driver of the No. 5 Williams eSports Toyota, Matt Bussa, were forced to retire after heavy damage.

pt leader laps
Former series champion and current series points leader, Ryan Michael Luza (53), had a forgettable night at Sonoma Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

The current series points leader, Ryan Michael Luza, also had his fair share of incidents, most notably coming with just under ten laps to go, when he spun into the tires and back out on to the track, collecting Garrett Lowe and Jake Nichols.

Both Lowe and Nichols were hovering around a Top 10 finish before the incident, but were relegated to lap down finishes of 17th and 28th, respectively. Luza retired after that incident to come home in 33rd.

Keegan Leahy (62) goes tumbling after contact with Nick Ottinger (47) at Sonoma Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

One of the most bizarre incidents of the day came after the final round of pit stops. Last week’s winner, Keegan Leahy, was battling for third with Talladega winner, Nick Ottinger. Leahy struck a rumble strip in a fashion that sent his car on two wheels, and Ottinger had nowhere to go but into Leahy’s tilted vehicle.

Leahy flipped a couple of times, but landed on all four wheels. In a style that can only be compared to Dale Earnhardt at the 1997 Daytona 500, Leahy still had all his parts and pieces, and the car was still drive-able, so he did just that, coming home with a fourth place finish.

Battle for 2nd
Michael Conti (8) had a clean race, with zero incidents, which helped him come home in second place at Sonoma Raceway. Photo by Justin Melillo / TRE via

Zalenski becomes the first ever official race winner for Coach Joe Gibbs in the world of eNASCAR, adding to an impressive list of race winners in the rest of the NASCAR world, and an impressive 2019 season altogether for Gibbs, who was recently named as a 2020 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee.

Only 14 of the 39 drivers finished on the lead lap on Tuesday night.


Zalenski moves into the Top 8 in the points standings again, but not by much.

Luza’s points gap has shrunk down to a mere five points over Leahy entering the next event at Chicagoland Speedway. Zack Novak was victorious in the event in 2018.



  1. 18 – Bobby Zalenski – Joe Gibbs Racing
  2. 8 – Michael Conti – JR Motorsports
  3. 47 – Nick Ottinger – JTG Daugherty Racing
  4. 62 – Keegan Leahy – G2 eSports
  5. 99 – Logan Clampitt – Burton Kligerman eSports
  6. 37 – Christian Challiner – JTG Daugherty Racing
  7. 14 – Casey Kirwan – Clint Bowyer Racing
  8. 46 – Jimmy Mullis – Richmond Raceway eSports
  9. 30 – Blake Reynolds – Team Dillon eSports
  10. 27 – Corey Vincent – Renegades
  11. 88 – Brad Davies – JR Motorsports
  12. 75 – Philip Diaz – Mode Motorsports
  13. 6 – Zack Novak – Roush Fenway Racing
  14. 77 – Ashton Crowder – Burton Kligerman eSports
  15. 74 – Taylor Hurst – Independent
  16. 42 – Dylan Duval – Independent
  17. 28 – Garrett Lowe – Renegades
  18. 36 – Chris Shearburn – Letarte eSports
  19. 16 – Chris Overland – Wood Brothers Racing
  20. 79 – Nickolas Shelton – Clint Bowyer Racing
  21. 3 – Michael Guariglia – Independent
  22. 51 – Eric J. Smith – Independent
  23. 17 – Michael Guest – Roush Fenway Racing
  24. 2 – Caine Cook – Independent
  25. 4 – Nathan Lyon – Letarte eSports
  26. 19 – Casey Tucker – Independent
  27. 24 – Cody Byus – Mode Motorsports
  28. 20 – Jake Nichols – Joe Gibbs Racing
  29. 80 – Brandon Hayse Kettelle – Independent
  30. 31 – Logan Kress – Independent
  31. 7 – Ryan Lowe – Independent
  32. 83 – Adam Benefiel – Independent
  33. 53 – Ryan Michael Luza – FlipSid3 Tactics
  34. 55 – Brian Schoenburg – Williams eSports
  35. 33 – Benjamin W. Nelson – Team Dillon eSports
  36. 66 – Jarl Teien – G2 eSports
  37. 63 – Timmy Hill – FlipSid3 Tactics
  38. 21 – Ray Alfalla – Wood Brothers Racing
  39. 5 – Matt Bussa – Williams eSports

Did Not Race: 90 – Malik Ray – Richmond Raceway eSports

RaceSpot TV


Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

One thought on “Bobby Zalenski dominates at Sonoma Raceway Leave a comment

Leave a Reply