Skip to content

Denny Hamlin ties Ned Jarrett, Junior Johnson at 50 wins

Photo by Feliz Vigil/TRE

Denny Hamlin became just the 15th driver in NASCAR history to win 50 NASCAR Cup Series races with his victory Sunday at Pocono Raceway.

Hamlin picked up his second victory of the 2023 season, tying Ned Jarrett and Junior Johnson for 13th all-time on the series’ wins list.

“Stuff like this doesn’t sit in for a while,” Hamlin said. 

Hamlin is the first driver since Kevin Harvick to earn his 50th career win in the Cup Series in 2020.

“To get my 50th win, it comes down to the track that I got my first, it certainly is special,” Hamlin said.

The first driver to hit the 50-win mark was three-time series champion Lee Petty in 1960. 

Petty scored a race-shortened victory at Asheville-Weaverville Speedway in North Carolina. According to Racing Reference, the race was shortened 33 laps “due to track deterioration.”


Jeff Gordon (232)

Darrell Waltrip (278)

David Pearson (293)

Jimmie Johnson (296)

Junior Johnson (303)

Ned Jarrett (331)

Richard Petty (337)

Cale Yarborough (345)

Dale Earnhardt (369)

Lee Petty (392)

Bobby Allison (433)

Kyle Busch (490)

Rusty Wallace (498)

Denny Hamlin (635)

Kevin Harvick (687)


Dominic Aragon View All

I am a co-owner and reporter for

Leave a Reply