Skip to content

eNASCAR – Ryan Michael Luza wins eNiPAS Round 2 at Las Vegas

iRacing Peak R2 Checkers
Ryan Michael Luza, driver of the No. 53 Flipsid3 Tactics Toyota, crosses the finish line at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Justin Melillo / TRE

The 2017 champion, Ryan Michael Luza, was victorious at Las Vegas Motor Speedway for the third consecutive year on Tuesday night.

Luza was able to hold off Daytona winner Zach Novak to take the checkers in the second round of the 2019 eNASCAR iRacing Peak AntiFreeze Series season.

“We made good adjustments for the weather on the last stop, and we came out with the win,” Luza said to RaceSpot TV after taking the checkered flag.

“I didn’t have huge hopes coming into this race, I felt like we were a little bit off in testing, but I guess I was just being crazy because the car was amazing.”


Starting 11th on the day, Luza made quick strides to find his way into the Top 3 by lap 19, passing the pole sitter, Brad Davies, in the No. 88 JR Motorsports Camaro.

Logan Clampitt, making his first start of the 2019 season in the No. 99 Burton Kligerman eSports Toyota, led the field through the first stint of the event, up until pit stops at lap 45.

Clampitt and Luza both took to pit road together, while the No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford of Novak waited until lap 47 to take service.

On lap 55, the field cycled through the pits, and Luza ended up taking over the point.

It wasn’t until lap 86 that the first caution of the race flew. Coming off of Turn 4, Davies hooked the No. 42 of Dylan Duval into the tri-oval grass.

The 2018 eNiPAS champion, Ray Alfalla, driving the No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford, didn’t check up in time and ran into the No. 66 G2 eSports Camaro driven by Jarl Teien.

On the restart, Luza pulled away to over a one-second lead over Novak and Clampitt.

iRacing Peak R2 big moment
A tense moment occurred on lap 115 when Blake Reynolds (No. 1) got sideways on the tri-oval. Reynolds collected his car with minimal time lost. Justin Melillo / TRE

The second and final caution of the day flew on lap 121 when Chris Overland, driving the No. 16 Wood Brothers Racing Ford, tapped the No. 3 of Michael Guariglia off of Turn 2, which sent the No. 3 into the No. 83 of Adam Benefiel.

The final pit stops of the day saw varying strategy, with Luza’s teammate, Timmy Hill in the No. 63, staying out to take the lead. Alfalla came out of the pits in third behind Luza, only having taken two tires.

On the final restart, Luza and Novak got around Hill, who checked up the bottom line. Alfalla and Hill made incredible saves in the middle of the pack on the back stretch, but wound up in the back of the pack, finishing 34th and 35th, respectively.

Meanwhile, Novak put as much pressure on Luza in the closing laps, even getting along side for a moment. It wouldn’t be enough, as Luza held on, claiming his first victory of the 2019 season.


Only two races in, the iRacing series heads to Auto Club Speedway in two weeks, and will debut their virtual take on the 2019 NASCAR rules package for the first time in series history.

Novak leads the season standings by three points over Luza.


  1. Ryan Michael Luza
  2. Zach Novak
  3. Logan Clampitt
  4. Bobby Zalenski
  5. Keegan Leahy
  6. Michael Guest
  7. Matt Bussa
  8. Michael Conti
  9. Jimmy Mullis
  10. Christian Challiner
  11. Nick Ottinger
  12. Ashton Crowder
  13. Jake Nichols
  14. Corey Vincent
  15. Casey Tucker
  16. Garrett Lowe
  17. Phillip Diaz
  18. Casey Kirwan
  19. Benjamin W. Nelson
  20. Cody Byus
  21. Blake Reynolds
  22. Ryan Lowe
  23. Adam Benefiel
  24. Eric J. Smith
  25. Logan Kress
  26. Chris Shearburn
  27. Caine Cook
  28. Nickolas Shelton
  29. Chris Overland
  30. Nathan Lyon
  31. Michael Guariglia
  32. Taylor Hurst
  33. Brad Davies
  34. Ray Alfalla
  35. Timmy Hill
  36. Brandon Hayse Kettelle
  37. Jarl Teien
  38. Brian Schoenburg
  39. Dylan Duval
  40. Malik Ray

RaceSpot TV

Justin Melillo View All

Columnist / Reporter / Photographer / Webmaster for

Leave a Reply